Korean Spicy Chicken Tenders with Sweet Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
When I was living in Korea there was a restaurant that served what we called, "Chilli Chicken." This is almost that exact chicken! I loved this dish so much that I was considering flying back there on vacation just to have it again. I also added come red pepper flakes to the recipe. We love spicy food! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I was in a bit of a rush and couldn't find gochujang at my local store. So I opted for a Thai Sweet Chili Sauce and hoped for the best. It was more sweet than it was spicy, but both my husband and I loved it! I really want to try the Korean hot pepper paste next time. Either way, I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Was a little aprehensive when I read this recipe as I don't normally like spicy foods. I have to say it wasn't really that spicy. It has a lot less punch than your standard buffulo wings. It is sweet to start and then a hint of "heat" afterward. I loved it and so did everyone else thats tried it. I would give it 5.5* P.S. had trouble finding hot pepper paste. Had to go to asian market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riska720

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good dish. I used a sweet chili sauce in place of the sugar and then a little hot sauce. Flavors were nicely balanced. Served it over brown basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Spicy! Could have been slightly more flavorful but all-in-all very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was very delicious. I couldn't find the hot pepper paste so I used red pepper flakes and red chile paste, but otherwise I made as exactly written. I loved it and would recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Very nice light taste. Also very easy to cook. I've already made this twice this past week. Like everyone else I did some subsitutions. The first time I made it w/o onions, it didn't make a big impact on taste. Like the rest I was unable to find Gochujang paste and went with Thai sweet chili. Since the chili is already sweet, I also omitted the suger and lemon peper. I made it using Golden Delicious Apples which i found to be perfect for the taste. I put too much peper and wine in the first try and it was very sauce and peper heavy. The second time I lightened up on the wine and the blance was perfect. I perfer to cut the chicken into larger chunks. The second time i did them too small and it began to shred into pieces as i cooked it. I used a simple white Chardoney, tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Amazing flavor. Love, love, loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made this for a holiday gathering...everyone raved about it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My husband is Korean, and we both typically find chicken to be very bland. This meal was delicious and very easy. We served it with white rice and kimchee. I diced the apple, onion, and celery, I liked it that way vs. big chunks. I'd definitely recommend this. It had just the right amount of 'kick'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States