Korean Spicy Chicken Tenders with Sweet Apple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Looking for something different to do with chicken, I came across this faceless (since Dec. ’09) recipe. Although my family liked it, we all thought it was lacking something. I served it over white rice and that didn’t seem to add anything to the dish. The vegetables were cooked with a nice crispness still there and the chicken had good flavor, but the overall opinion was that it was good, but too many other recipes out there to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This dish is quite tasty. I'm half Korean so we always have gochujang on hand. My husband wasn't too keen on the apples' consistency of being partially mushy, but overall, the dish was a hit. I served this with some rice and a Korean cucumber salad. The sweetness of the cucumber salad went very well with this dish. Will definitely make it again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was pretty good. Next time I will add more apples (maybe use a whole one) and cut the apple pieces larger (I think I diced instead of leaving them in chunks). Definitely find the gochujang sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made this for a holiday gathering...everyone raved about it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My family loved this, however I substituted chili sauce for the hot chili sauce and doubled it for a spicier flavor. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I added more bell peppers and used white rice and it was a HUGE hit in my house. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good dish. I used a sweet chili sauce in place of the sugar and then a little hot sauce. Flavors were nicely balanced. Served it over brown basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My husband is Korean, and we both typically find chicken to be very bland. This meal was delicious and very easy. We served it with white rice and kimchee. I diced the apple, onion, and celery, I liked it that way vs. big chunks. I'd definitely recommend this. It had just the right amount of 'kick'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
this was a great recipe. i'm only giving it 4 because i want to give room one day for a 5. you need to use the korean chili paste though. that is critical to get the right flavour. i also used a whole chicken and a jalepeno pepper. i didn't remove all the skin from the chicken but left some on. i also put a little sour cream in and a touch more white wine and a touch of lemon. mostly because this dish needs to taste fresh but solid. thanks for the great recipe. and make sure you get the correct chili pase. i got mine from ujimaya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
We really loved this recipe and will have this again and again. I must admit that I did not have the Korean pepper paste but I think the chile paste is a close match. NO lemon pepper either, but I put in a little grated lemon peel instead. Doubled the recipe for four, and served with lemon fried rice from this sight--great match. Thanks for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Bonhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States