Korean Slow Cooker Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I followed the recipe to the book and it's delicious! But a little too salty so instead, I used 2/3C chicken broth and 1/3C soy sauce (I use premium soy sauce, which is saltier) to balance out. Another time I tried 3/4C chicken broth and 1/4C soy sauce - makes the recipe a little bland but if you're watching your sodium intake, this might be a good option. I have made this 5X already and e-mailed it to all my crock pot friends. Way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mingmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
These were way too salty and according to my Korean boyfriend, not Korean. He said that to make the recipe more authentic (and less salty) sugar should be added to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Good slow cooker recipe. I used low sodium soy sauce and chicken broth, but tripled the quantities of both because our slow cooker is 5 quart oval and I didn't want the liquid to burn on the sides of the pot. Also added in an extra tbls. of paste and doubled the garlic. We made 8 medium thickness pork chops. They were very tender and flavorful. We served them with simple steamed mixed vegetables on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I used extra bean paste because I love spicy food and I used 2/3 chicken broth and 1/3 soy sauce as recommended by another user.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
5 star w/ suggestions from others. Here's how to take a 4 star & make it 5 star: (1) use 1/2 c. low sodium chicken broth; (2) sub Ponzu (seasoned soy sauce) for soy sauce. Ponzu had 400mg sodium / svg, lite tarmari has 700 mg sodium and regular soy sauce has 900+mg sodium. That's it. Has a GREAT flavor, pork chops shredded apart and are neighbors at the condo wanted to know what smelled so good. We served over Jasmine rice with stir fried mixed veggies. The "zucchini and onion stir fry" recipe from this site is really good with this too. Thanks for sharing. We had to find the Korean chile paste at a local Asian market since Whole Foods, Earthfare and local Ingles didn't have it but it was worth the hunt to get it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This recipe started off with a great flavor, and by the end of the chop, It was so salty, we couldn't eat it anymore. I used both low sodium broth and soy sauce, so I'm not sure what happened...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Like the other postings, this was just too salty. I used low sodium soy sauce and even added sugar. Not a recipe I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Yum! I am always looking for korean flavered dishes to serve to my korean husband..This was easy and delish! I followed the recipe to a tee except that i added a splash of sesame oil. My husband even asked to take the left ivers for lunch the next day =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Much too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was ok. The flavor was pretty good, but it was salty. I think the sauce would have been better as a stir fry sauce instead of a slow cooker recipe. I just thought the soy overpowered the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States