Korean Saewoo Bokkeumbap (Shrimp Fried Rice) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Really glad to stumble upon this one. I probably up the oyster sauce to 6tbsp and add a little more veggies .. Other than that it's perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Very yummy. I didn't add the oyster sauce so it was lacking in a little flavor, but we just used a little soy sauce to help. (Next time I'd add a different flavor profile though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Next time I will take a photo - this was possibly the best fried rice I have ever made. I usually make Chinese style, which is good, but these flavors and the fried eggs put this over the top! Everyone (including my 7yo DD) cleaned their plate. Ten stars as is. I did change the method from the recipe, but not any ingredients. I dislike pan washing (who doesn't?) so I used a large cast iron pan and just scooted everything to the outside to scramble the eggs in the same pan. They cook in less than a minute and you just stir up together. I also used precooked shrimp so I added the onion and garlic after the first five minutes, then added the thawed shrimp and corn for another two. The combination is ideal and I recommend against changing it, especially the fried eggs. Kudos, mykoreaneats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
5 stars from the entire family! I'm hit or miss when it comes to rice and this came out perfect. I did omit the corn because we don't care for it in our fried rice. Also omitted the shrimp because it was being served with Honey Walnut shrimp. I did add anchovy paste and was asked to add pineapples the next time. I didn't have day old rice so I made it in the morning, allowed it to cool for 1hr on wax paper after separating with a fork and then put it in the frig for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is absolutely delicious!!! I added cabbage, but other than that I cook it by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
The recipe itself was decent but I've read some of these reviews(as a half Korean) and can't help feeling this surge of disappointment. It just seems people don't respect the individuality of Asian cultures and their cuisines and try to view all things Asian in this fusion heavy sort of way. Its not all the same, folks. Chinese fried rice is notably different from Japanese fried rice which is still different from Koream and Thai and so on. Every Asian nation has its own unique take on dishes such as fried rice and it ain't all the same thing. Take heed that changing green peppers to peas isn't just a simple matter of preference, you're going from a Korean dish to a Chinese one. If you like to eat this way, thats great. But at least acknowledge that what you're doing isn't strictly Korean anymore and the fried rices of eaxh country are all that much different. Same goes for the inclusion of egg drop soup on the side- its perfectly fine but at leasr habe a bit of acknowledgement that its Chinese. You're pairing a Chinese soup with a Korean dish. Peace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
We've made this four times now. It's made its way into our regular meal rotation and the whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WileyP
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Now, here is my go-to shrimp fried rice! I made two batches, the first one per the instructions. It was just marvelous and rates five stars on its own. On the second batch I used 24 ounces of frozen pre-cooked shrimp and added them in step #3. I used 2 cups of veggies, diced carrot, frozen corn and frozen peas. I did prepare the scrambled eggs thin and crepe-like and then made a chifonade of them - The presentation was just like at a restaurant! Oh, and for a little added zing, I also added about 1/2 teaspoon of Sriracha sauce in step #3. All in all, I had a great time with this recipe and everyone thought I was a genius! Thanks, oliviajasonkim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Hubs is lucky I like him. He’s on a business trip today, getting home late tonite, and won’t have had a chance to eat all day. He told me he’s been looking forward to this dinner (I made this along with Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) all day. This was so “D” good it’s only the guilt factor and the fact that I like him that’s preventing me from scarfing up his portion too. As is my preference, I used peas and carrots rather than green bell pepper, corn and carrots, and in the interest of being carb-responsible, less rice than called for in proportion to the shrimp and vegetables. I loved the addition of the oyster sauce as well as the soy sauce, which gave this fried rice a little more complexity in flavor than most. As for the egg, as I always do when I make fried rice, I cooked it as a crepe, rolled it up like a cigar, then sliced it into ribbons, chiffonade style – much prettier. (I learned this from a wonderful Chinese cook many, many years ago) I did not top this with the optional fried egg – this was just perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was delicious. Fried rice and eggs are a common breakfast on Maui and this is a good one. I made one small change. I used peanut oil with a drop or two of sesame oil because I like those oils for their flavor in stirfrys.(instead of olive oil) Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States