Korean Marinated Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Stop what you are doing right now and go make this marinade. It is FANTASTIC!! I used it on NY Strip steaks and was only grilling 3 steaks, so I used only what I needed and froze the rest to use it later on chicken... Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
My family really enjoyed this dish. I followed the recommendation of using half soy and half water. I tripled the amount of ginger and garlic and omitted the meat tenderizer. Marinated it for 24 hours + and cooked for 8 minutes per side. Will definitely make again. Very yummy and no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Cloverdale, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Just did this over the 4th of July weekend. It was a HUGE hit! Even the kids loved it. I Served it sliced super thin in lettuce wraps with a homemade napa cabbage slaw. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This is way too salty for us. I would reduce soy sauce by 1/2 of what is recommended, add 3 tablespoon of siracha hot sauce, 1 tablespoon of fresh ginger, and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
With all the soy sauce (even reduced sodium) it was very salty. I'll try it again with less soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Sooo delicious everyone loved it! Made according to the directions but substituted half of the soy sauce with water because I was nervous it would be overly salty. I let the flank steak marinade for 24 plus hrs and then grilled 6 minutes per side. The entire dinner party couldn't get over how delicious it was and one individual even requested the recipe saying it was the best steak she's ever had :) I will for sure be making this again and would highly recommend it to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Great easy recipe for a sweet, salty and slightly tangy flank steak. As with others, I didn't have any low sodium soy, so I used 1 cup regular soy and 1 cup water and substituted a little lemon juice for the meat tenderizer. This was a last minute dinner idea, so the meat only marinated for about an hour. I forked the meat and had a pretty good cut, so the flavor did get into it, but it needed some additional sauce on top. Will definitely make this again and try the lettuce wraps someone mentioned in their review. We just had it with white rice. Will also try sirlion skewers with this marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Four stars as written, five stars with my tweaks! I made a 2 lb flank steak and knew that the marinade volume was way too much. I halved everything but the garlic and ginger, in fact I doubled the garlic and ginger! Also put in a healthy squirt of Sriracha for sweet heat. I also omitted the meat tenderizer, I don't think its needed if you fork your steak well. Marinade and steak went into my FoodSaver canister for 2 hours, but there was so much marinade that I couldn't bear to toss it! It went into a saucepan with 1/2 cup of water to tone the harshness of the soy sauce and raw onion, then thickened with arrowroot. Served the sauce with the steak at the table and it was a huge hit. I served it with an Asian style quinoa pilaf which was much more flavorful and healthy than rice. Dinner was amazing! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was BEYOND delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States