Korean Marinated Flank Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Excellent! It marinated for 2 whole days in the marinade. As I didn't have low-sodium soy sauce nor meat tenderizer, I substituted 1/2 soy sauce, 1/2 water & 2-4 Tblsp. pineapple juice, respectively. Will make this again. I served it with steamed (pearl) rice, Kor. green onion salad, & several lettuce leaves per person. We ate the thinly sliced meat Korean-style, wrapping all the foods in the leaves, & optionally dipping into a soy sauce & rice vinegar dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Our family and friends love it. They look forward to every time it is on the menu. Instead of using meat tenderizer we marinate two nights. One night in sprite to tenderize and the second night in the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Four stars as written, five stars with my tweaks! I made a 2 lb flank steak and knew that the marinade volume was way too much. I halved everything but the garlic and ginger, in fact I doubled the garlic and ginger! Also put in a healthy squirt of Sriracha for sweet heat. I also omitted the meat tenderizer, I don't think its needed if you fork your steak well. Marinade and steak went into my FoodSaver canister for 2 hours, but there was so much marinade that I couldn't bear to toss it! It went into a saucepan with 1/2 cup of water to tone the harshness of the soy sauce and raw onion, then thickened with arrowroot. Served the sauce with the steak at the table and it was a huge hit. I served it with an Asian style quinoa pilaf which was much more flavorful and healthy than rice. Dinner was amazing! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Very yummy even though my blender broke during the process (really old blender). I just left the marinade with chunky bits and marinaded over night. Tender and tasty but salty as I expected. Tasted a lot like Maui Ribs Marinade, which hubby likes a lot. Big hit at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This came out great! A bit on the salty side(I love salt) but I didn't have any low sodium soy sauce. My family enjoyed it. I will definitely use this marinade again with a less costly piece of meat as I have 13 people in my home and flank steak can be pretty pricey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
With all the soy sauce (even reduced sodium) it was very salty. I'll try it again with less soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Sooo delicious everyone loved it! Made according to the directions but substituted half of the soy sauce with water because I was nervous it would be overly salty. I let the flank steak marinade for 24 plus hrs and then grilled 6 minutes per side. The entire dinner party couldn't get over how delicious it was and one individual even requested the recipe saying it was the best steak she's ever had :) I will for sure be making this again and would highly recommend it to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I live in South Korea right now and this is a great recipe! It works well with pork ribs/steak, too! Wrap the cut up pieces in bib lettuce and enjoy with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Moskal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Milly Suazo
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Stop what you are doing right now and go make this marinade. It is FANTASTIC!! I used it on NY Strip steaks and was only grilling 3 steaks, so I used only what I needed and froze the rest to use it later on chicken... Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
The marinade is great, but calls for way too much soy sauce. I used about 1.5 cups and I had a ton of marinade left. Instead of flank steak, I used very thin slivers of (I believe) filet mignon, put them on skewers, and grilled them. Quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States