Korean Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I'm Korean -- born in Seoul and raised in CA by immigrant parents. I vividly recall the Sunday-after-church-Korean-BBQ-beef -- and this recipe is what I share with all my friends b/c we all love Korean BBQ, so I'm talking authentic. It's AGAIN, authentic, and amazingly simple and DEELISH. I add a little extra garlic, but for those who are not comfortable with the white sugar and flour, you can sub with brown sugar (you'll need a bit more) and use half the recommended flour. Believe me, I've looked at other recipes online and they can't touch this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzisixx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I used this on beef flank steak (sliced it up first) and sliced yellow onions tonight. I used 1 lbs. sliced flank steak and 1 medium size yellow onion. I thought the flavor was good but definitely too salty for my taste. I used Kikkoman organic soy sauce (imported from Japan) and served these over rice. Next time, I will use 3 onions (they shrunk quite a bit) and maybe even add sweet peppers or something, though they are not authentic Korean dish just to knock down the salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This definitely satisfied my Asian food craving. I marinated chicken breasts and served them Korean-style soba noodles. the chicken turned out slightly salty (even with reduced sodium soy sauce) so next time I will not add any extra salt. I cannot wait to try it on other meats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is actually an amazing tofu marinade, believe it or not! I have to admit I made a couple changes to make it a true 5 star recipe, but this recipe served as a great base. I used agave nectar instead of sugar, 1 Tbsp. sesame oil instead of 2, added a bit of garlic & onion powders, and the juice of half a lemon. Oh, and I omitted the flour. Thanks for the great idea! I loved the addition of sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
this marinade rocked! i left out the sesame seeds, but next time will incorporate. i tried it on steak first, but it also worked wonderful on pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
A nice marinade, made a few changes the second time, based on preference and need. I omitted the flour - I am a celiac, also used gluten-free tamari soy sauce - but feel that any flour, if it is wanted, or if deep-frying the meat, should definitely be added to meat after it is marinaded and before cooking, not to marinade itself. Also used brown sugar, 1 tsp. more brown sugar than recipe amount, 1 tablespoon rice wine, 1 extra garlic clove and 1/4 cup fine chopped regular onion in place of the green onion, and two generous pinches of black pepper. I used this variation on 2 cubed pork tenderloins, in marinade for 45 minutes. Added a touch more sesame oil in place of sesame seeds, as we were grilling the pork on the barbecue as kabobs (I don't like burnt sesame seed, which will happen on the barbecue). Will try adding a drop of hot sauce or Chinese chili sauce the next time, as I like a little heat, but this version turned out quite well, husband really enjoyed it and has requested a repeat. Leftover pork was just as good the next day. A handy marinade that you didn't have to think about or make the day before. Thank you for adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casharkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Way too salty for my taste, I'd recommend reduced-sodium soy sauce (and I used less than listed). I marinaded chicken and used it in a stiry fry which left a gray paste-like substance all over the pan and chicken (assuming from the flour and its meant more as a grilling marinade). Might try again with low-sodium soy sauce, but it was nothing outside of a basic marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
SOOOOOOO GREAT... My husband who is picky picky eater loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Awesome! Even my Korean mom was impressed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States