Korean Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
It is a great authentic recipe especially for Korean BBQ beef except that we don't frequently use flour in it(never heard of it, actually). Add 1Tb rice wine(don't substitute it with vinegar) or any kind of wine available, 2Tbs corn syrup or honey, 1/2 minced or finely chopped small onion and it would be perfect. Can be used for 1 1/2-2lbs beef depending on the saltness of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
I tried this recipe with beef short ribs to make Korean kalbi and it tasted just like my mother's home cooking! The only thing she does differently is to rub the sugar onto the meat first and let it sit for awhile before marinating it with the rest of the ingredients. Anyway, I really enjoyed this recipe and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
Very good! A tasty marinade that smells wonderful while the food is cooking. I made a couple of changes that enhanced the recipe for my family. #1 I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar; the brown sugar gives a deeper color & flavor. #2 Like other reviewers, I used sesame oil {dark} in place of sesame seeds. #3 I used lots more onions in addition to scallions. Thanks, Curlie for a delicious marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
My girlfriend and I enjoyed this recipe. I especially enjoy marinating meat for a couple of days before grilling, broiling, or frying. I substituted the sesame seeds with more sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This marinade was awesome with boneless chicken breast and grilled. Even my pickiest eater liked it. I took leftover marinade and sauted fresh green beans in it, which made for a great side dish with the chicken. Thanks, Laura
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
My in-laws are Korean, and my mother-in-law is famous for her Korean barbeque marinade. After making this recipe, I now have my own version that I am proud to share with my in-laws! It is excellent, and is useful with just about any cut of beef, especially short ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
It's very easy to do, all the ingredients are right under my cupboard. My husband loves it and it's very simple to do (or did i say that already?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Awesome Marinade! I had to substitute a little onion powder for the green onion. I cut up a sirloin steak and soaked it in the marinade for one hour. Then I threaded it on bamboo skewers for kabobs on the grill and served with fried rice. I have another keeper thats not just the same ol' same ol'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
unbelievable! great on chicken, beef, pork even shrimp! my husband really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLYKNOWSBEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This fell really short of my expectations I guess. I just didn't like it much. I think I will try it again with a longer marinade time (was overnight).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States