Korean Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This marinade was awesome with boneless chicken breast and grilled. Even my pickiest eater liked it. I took leftover marinade and sauted fresh green beans in it, which made for a great side dish with the chicken. Thanks, Laura
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
My girlfriend and I enjoyed this recipe. I especially enjoy marinating meat for a couple of days before grilling, broiling, or frying. I substituted the sesame seeds with more sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
I tried this recipe with beef short ribs to make Korean kalbi and it tasted just like my mother's home cooking! The only thing she does differently is to rub the sugar onto the meat first and let it sit for awhile before marinating it with the rest of the ingredients. Anyway, I really enjoyed this recipe and will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
I love this marinade! I used chicken and marinanted overnight. Then I put it on the grill the next day and oh how flavorful it tasted! Will definetly use again...maybe try some beef next...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
Very good! A tasty marinade that smells wonderful while the food is cooking. I made a couple of changes that enhanced the recipe for my family. #1 I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar; the brown sugar gives a deeper color & flavor. #2 Like other reviewers, I used sesame oil {dark} in place of sesame seeds. #3 I used lots more onions in addition to scallions. Thanks, Curlie for a delicious marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
I will definitely make this again. I didn't have any green onions so I substituted chopped white onions and was still delicious. You must use sesame oil though, there is no substitute for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This marinade was pretty good. I altered the recipie a bit by using red pepper flakes instead of black pepper, and omitted the seseme seeds (because I didn't have any) and flour. I also added rice vinegar to the marinade. Overall, it turned out okay. I would have liked a stronger flavor, more intense flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENA75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I used this marinade for my chicken and it was oh SO good! It's great and low carb at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Awesome Marinade! I had to substitute a little onion powder for the green onion. I cut up a sirloin steak and soaked it in the marinade for one hour. Then I threaded it on bamboo skewers for kabobs on the grill and served with fried rice. I have another keeper thats not just the same ol' same ol'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
It is a great authentic recipe especially for Korean BBQ beef except that we don't frequently use flour in it(never heard of it, actually). Add 1Tb rice wine(don't substitute it with vinegar) or any kind of wine available, 2Tbs corn syrup or honey, 1/2 minced or finely chopped small onion and it would be perfect. Can be used for 1 1/2-2lbs beef depending on the saltness of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States