Korean Kimchi Jigeh Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Don't forget to add the Korean Hot Pepper Paste (Gochujang) to taste. You can find it in Korean store or any asian stores that sell Korean food. Use the miso paste for the soup base (just a light taste of it). Add some dried lily flowers, onions (i like it when the onions become soft), chopped jalapeño and minced garlic. Salt and pepper to taste. You can also add 1tp of soy sauce if you like it. Boil for 5 mins, then add the medium-soft tofu (cubes) and cover for 2 mins. Serve with cut shallots on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
2 small jars kimchi bought in my local grocery market, with 4 thick slices of breakfast bacon, 2 tbsp fresh minced garlic, 2 tbsp of fresh minced ginger, 2 chopped green onions, 2 cups water, and 1-2 pounds of boneless pork ribs or chops, boil and simmer for 30-40 minutes, then toss in a pkg of diced hard tofu (optional) and simmer another 10 minutes. serve with steamed rice! delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I make this all the time except I like to add firm tofu with it. This is the first Korean dish everyone should learn how to make !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
A few weeks ago, I made the "Spicy Cabbage Kimchi" recipe. I thought it was way too salty, and most of the reviews agreed. So, it sat in my fridge, uneaten. However, I used it to make this Korean Kimchi Jigeh Stew today, and the result was very tasty indeed! I used some chicken instead of Spam, because I can't bring myself to eat Spam, and I didn't add any salt -- due to the aforementioned salty kimchi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Made it exactly to recipe but without any meat and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPPGRRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Living In: Wheeler, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This recipe required too much adjustment. I used all of the ingredients except salt, added Kimchi I purchased from the local Korean market with some cooked pork belly. These additions gave it a great taste. Use soup broth instead of water and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was a great soup! I used 1/3 of a 16oz jar of Kimchi, 2 cups of water, 1 Tbl chili powder, a clove of crushed garlic, and cubed smoked tofu. Didn't bother adding salt or pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Really easy and quick. I add couple cloves of garlic and onions, and sometimes add instant noodles (esp. neoguri ramen) at the end :) I also probably put about 4 cups of kimchi.. the more the better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colyal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I like to make Kimchi jigeh stew, but I always do in a different way. First of all, I add more vegetables, such as carrots, onions, green onions, bean sprouts, mushrooms and tofu. I usually use sliced pork meat or substitute knnyaku (Which is a Japanese vegetarian ingredient) for meat. Then, I taste the soup with Korean spicy paste (e.g. gochu jang) and miso paste. Don't forget adding minced ginger and garlic. This gives a great flavor to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Thin pork chops work really well. Also, my mom used to use cut up hot dogs when we were little. Try adding a touch of sugar too, taste better with a little sweetness. Always a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States