Korean Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was great. I used rice vinegar, sesame oil, and garlic chili sauce instead of white vinegar, vegetable oil and red pepper flakes. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraPDX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This was good. I doubled the recipe and added some salt. (Doubling the recipe, I used 1/4 tsp.) I omitted the green onion in favor of dehydrated onion (was out of scallions). A bit of sugar would have brought these flavors together nicely, I think, and I would add that in the future. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was just okay. The vinegar was overwhelming and overall, it was lacking in flavor. I tried doctoring it up with some sugar and a little salt. It helped a bit. As others have suggested, I would use rice wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was just ok. I did use rice vinegar versus white and I am sure that helped a tad. It really needed sesame oil (which I didn't think about until after the fact) I also wasn't too keen on the Red Pepper Flakes being in this recipe. A chili oil would probably have suited this a bit better. I will say that after trying I did add a dash of salt and that helped the flavor a bit. I do feel it is a good 'starting point' to put my own spin on things but that's not how we rate the recipes here....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was ok, but I felt that something was missing, but not sure what. If I try this again, I would probably go with the rice vinegar as others suggested, and maybe some sesame oil or sugar or something. We ate it, it just wasn't our favorite, but thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Wonderful recipe. Great contribution. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Seemed like it was missing something. I tried a bit of sugar, not quite but better. Tried ground peanuts, still not it. I'm looking for something more in the dressing but I dont know what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina Ulmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
very nice counterpoint to a richer asian meal. i used half white vinegar, half rice vinegar. the white vin. gave it the zing and the rice vin. gave it the right flavor profile. used a dash of sesame oil instead of veg. oil. tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I would have rated this with more stars except I think that this recipe would be 5 stars if one were to use rice wine vinegar rather than just plain white...that's the only thing I would change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I will make this again using less vinegar, and probally use the rice wine vinegar instead. The vinegar was way too strong, but still worth attempting again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States