Korean Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
We like this with Kal-bi at home. It's simple and deliciously refreshing to pair it with the bbq. We also get a little bit of steamed rice in the mix to make it a complete meal. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Holy Cow!!!! This is now my favorite cucumber salad. So light and refreshing. A few tweaks: 1)used rice vinegar instead of white vinegar. 2)used pre-toasted sesame seeds, eliminating the oil. 3)used freshly ground black pepper 4)used a long English cucumber Definitely allow time for the flavors to come together before serving. I set it aside for an hour and it was sooooo good! I went back into the kitchen and made a double recipe of just the dressing. I only put 1 T of sesame seeds since I don't know how much vinegar they may absorb. Keeping it in the fridge, so it is ready to go for the next few days. Keeping presliced veggies on standby. Gonna put it all together for lunch at work and share with coworkers. Yummy, can't wait to enjoy it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Thanks for all the tips - I made this using seasoned rice vinegar. Because I like things spicy I toasted the sesame seeds with chili oil and didn't need any red pepper flakes. Wow it sure had a kick - but sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was really bland, won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Made exactly per recipe. Good but....needed salt. I was surprised by how spicy (hot) this was. I eat a lot of Indian, hot curry, so wasn't too spicy for me, but if you don't like hot, might want to cut back on red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Good, easy salad to make. My wife loved it, I was more just ok with it. Light and fresh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
yum, this is very good. i used rice wine vinegar and sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is alright, but not great. The recipe should specify RICE vinegar as white vinegar is to pungent. There should also be some honey as is traditionally use in Korea. The sesame seeds don't need to be fried, just toast them in a dry pan. Replace the vegetable oil with dark sesame oil and add directly to the sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I can't speak to the authenticity of this recipe, having never experienced the real thing before, but I know what I like, and the dressing for this salad was far too astringent. I would increase the oil and choose sesame over vegetable, use rice vinegar, and add a teaspoon or two of sugar. Otherwise, the dressing is extremely unbalanced, resulting in something tart and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great recipe to start from but I thought it was too vinegary - I toned down the vinegar by a little bit, added brown sugar and sesame oil and it was a great side dish to the Korean BBQ marinade chicken and the Bulgogi from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States