Korean Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I was stationed in Korea during my military days and this is one of my favorite Korean dishes. Thanks for sharing. Very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Following suggestions, I subbed rice wine vinegar (1/8c), added 1t sugar, & less red pepper (1/4t). I marinated a few hours. It's not so Asian flavored, which was the attraction to making this. Using less & rice wine vinegar instead, it wasn't so vinegar-y either. No points off for that. ;) It didn't seem much different than an American cucumber dish. For sure, sub sesame oil for the oil - if you try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alainia
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Made this for a side to go with Bulgogi. Was a nice fresh dish. I left out the sesame for diet reason. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Goderich, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I really loved this recipe. I used Korean red pepper powder instead and I didn't sauté the sesame seeds. The flavors were really great!! Will be making this again very soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was really pretty good, as are a number of other recipes for cucumber salad on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I used sesame oil instead of seed, and reduce the EVOO, just a splash of EVOO. I used RICE VINEGAR instead of what she wrote. I added a slash of simple syrup or honey... So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by denay4love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
We like this with Kal-bi at home. It's simple and deliciously refreshing to pair it with the bbq. We also get a little bit of steamed rice in the mix to make it a complete meal. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Holy Cow!!!! This is now my favorite cucumber salad. So light and refreshing. A few tweaks: 1)used rice vinegar instead of white vinegar. 2)used pre-toasted sesame seeds, eliminating the oil. 3)used freshly ground black pepper 4)used a long English cucumber Definitely allow time for the flavors to come together before serving. I set it aside for an hour and it was sooooo good! I went back into the kitchen and made a double recipe of just the dressing. I only put 1 T of sesame seeds since I don't know how much vinegar they may absorb. Keeping it in the fridge, so it is ready to go for the next few days. Keeping presliced veggies on standby. Gonna put it all together for lunch at work and share with coworkers. Yummy, can't wait to enjoy it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Thanks for all the tips - I made this using seasoned rice vinegar. Because I like things spicy I toasted the sesame seeds with chili oil and didn't need any red pepper flakes. Wow it sure had a kick - but sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Korean Fried Chicken

See how to make tender, extra-crispy, double-fried Korean chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States