Korean Braised Short Ribs (Galbi Jjim) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Really good recipe! Easy and simple. Very sweet and salty. The only thing I recommend is adding an extra cup of water to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Don't be put off by all the ingredients - these ribs are amazing! I omitted the kiwi and the shiitake mushrooms (forgot to buy them) and could probably have done without the water chestnuts. My only minor complaint is that everything turned out rather salty (and I love salt!). Other than that, we couldn't get enough. Thanks, I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I must have used the incorrect Soy Sauce, because 1 1/2 cups made the sauce inedible because it was too salty........I never even added the extra salt that the recipe called for. Since the sauce was so overpowering with salt I have no idea what the real flavor was..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was really sumptuous ! The beef was so tender, and the flavor was just enough sweet and salty. I added 1 sweet potatoes as well, butternut squash would be good too :) One thing I did was I used few chunks of caneloupe, and few chunks for honey dew in replace of the pear and kiwi. Why not, it was leftover from a fruit salad. The substitution did not change flavor in the dish. The sauce was so good over rice. If you think it's not garlicky enough, then add some more garlic powder as I do to any dish anyways... and lots of cracked black pepper. YUM !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This recipe is now a family favorite! We really enjoyed making it, an authentic aroma filled the house. Simple, tasty, messy but fun. At some point I will try different flavors like extra garlic or a spicy element. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
To be honest at first I had my doubts about this recipe but it turned out so well, I will definitely make it again! It was well worth the time and effort, my family was very pleased with the end results : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oleander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Too salty and not sweet or garlicky enough. I added almost another whole cup of sugar and a pound of vegetables to balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This recipe is very yummy. I will totaly make this again. The only problem I had was that the meat felt like it had tiny little slivers of bone all through it. I have never cooked spare ribs before so I have no idea what this problem is. The flavor was great though. I would use this recipe again perhaps with a different kind of meat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
My family really enjoy the short ribs. I made a few changes to the recipe. 1 bag of carrots. 4 potatoes. I did not add green onion, water chestnuts or mushroom. I will definitely make this again and pass the recipe on to my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States