Korean Beef Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Loved it! This is HANDS DOWN the most delicious BBQ meat dish I have ever cooked! My family literally ignored the roast potatoes and vegetables I cooked and devoured just the meat! I was a little worried about the curry after the comments, but followed the sauce recipe exactly and am glad I did as the curry really makes it. I put it on beef ribs but it would be equally good on steak or chicken. And it was so easy - no marinading time needed, just slap it on and your done! This might not be authentic Korean but it is fantastic!! Can't believe it hasn't gone viral!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
OK...I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could to help it get a better reputation around here. To tell you the truth, I usually don't even try something if it doesn't have AT LEAST four stars (learned my lesson) but I was short-handed on ingredients and this recipe fit. In fact, I still didn't have the brown sugar and just used organic cane instead, plus, we use Mrs. Braggs aminos instead of soy sauce, but no one seemed to care because they were so busy eating the ribs and sopping up the sauce that it was pretty silent at the table. I'm not a Korean food guru and have no idea what ingredients it is "supposed" to have, but I do know when something tastes incredible and this was one of the most incredible marinades for beef I've ever tasted. The only mistake I made was cooking beef ribs instead of a beef rib roast. There just wasn't enough meat to satiate our addicted pallets!!! Next time, I'm just gonna use a round roast...maybe two...or three (jk)!!! Delightful, give it a try! Thanks, Lindsay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
IAlright already with rating this a 1 or 2 star because "Korean cooking doesn't contain curry" SO WHAT! This is by far the best marinade I've tried in quite a while. I didn't have a roast so I used beef ribs and cooked it in a crockpot on low for about 9 hours and the ribs came out so tender and my whole family couldn't get enough and are already begging me to make more. This is definitely worth a try and I wouldn't alter a thing in it. Just remember to use a good brand soy sauce and curry or the quality will suffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
These are really good! I made them with beef shortribs. I just stirred the sauce ingredients together and put them over the ribs in the crockpot. Cooked about 6 hours on high. We butcher beef that we grow and I have never had a good recipe for beef ribs till now. It is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I thought this was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I think the recipe refers to the cut of ribs, not that they are 'Korean' style. Anyhoo- this is a good recipe. I am not a fan of curry, but others in my family are. I added some red pepper flakes, tomato puree, and beef broth and dumped it all in the crockpot, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
waste of a good roast....I might use it on a cheaper cut of meat of steak maybe??? but just not that great....or authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
As a Korean American, I am giving this one star for using curry. Curry is never considered a Korean spice. But if curry is what you like...I won't tell. LOL I save my good curry for Jap. and Indian dishes. And to Rachel....My Mom owned a Korean resturant and every Korean I know uses Kikoman. Curious to know what you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Curry powder is not a Korean recipe ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
What a mistake~! We, Korean, never use curry for our own cuisine. Basic ingredients for Korean style marinade are soy sauce(Not kikoman), ground fresh pear, honey, pepper, finely chopped scallion and garlic, black pepper, sesame oil and grond sesame. The role of pear is tenderizing agent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States