Korean Barbequed Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Very tasty -- even my kids ate it up. Wrapped in bibb lettuce, it is fairly healthy and the sauce is delicious. I didn't have hot chile paste so I just left it out and it was still wonderful. Rainy day -- I cut the sirloin thinly, marinated then broiled it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was easy to make and really good. My family loved it. I had to use regular white wine instead of rice wine and it still was excellent. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
easy and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
We tried this while camping over the weekend. I don't like to substitute the first time I make a recipe, but I looked at THREE different stores for hot chile paste and had no luck. I substituted hot thai chili sauce, so I don't now how much that altered the recipe. I did everything else exactly as instructed and we LOVED the results. When I told hubby what I was making I could see the look of doubt on his face -- "wrapped in lettuce leaves???" But I lost count of how may he ate and he has already requested that I make it when we go camping again Labor Day Weekend. I served this with Far East brand Ginger Sesame Rice which was a great accompaniment -- we'd add a little to our lettuce bundle before wrapping and eating. YUMMY! I'm not sure whether to keep searching for the chile paste or stick with the chile sauce. Either way THANKS for the great recipe and a nice addition to our camping trip menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwanInWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This EXCELLENT, you did a great job inventing this dish, It's a true Korean Delicacy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! A 5 STAR Dish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
One of my family's all-time favorites!! My daughter asks me to makes this all the time. Just the smell of the marinade starts everyone drooling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajeepthing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was in the Baltimore Sun about 10 years ago. Since that time, friends and I have made it when we get together, as it is so easy and we all LOVE it. (even the Korean friend whose dad is an amazing cook) I was always losing my copies, electronic and paper, so it's nice to know I have it saved here. I have made it without the chile paste for the kids, and it is still good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
We modified this recipe a bit. I put all of it except the onion and lettuce in the slow cooker on low for several hours along with some chopped up ginger. Then shredded the meat and put it back in with the liquid. We made this into tacos with a slaw of cabbage, the green onion, radishes, cilantro, plain Greek yogurt, and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This smelled wonderful as it cooked on the grill & tasted pretty good too. I used green leaf lettuce instead of bibb & leeks instead of scallions. served with soba noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Carolyn
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Very tasty recipe and easy to prepare. Not sure how authentic it is, but delicious regardless. 4 stars instead of 5 because I felt the depth of flavor just wasn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States