Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KathyB63
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This was an easy recipe to make. I read quite a few reviews, which I used some of the tips and suggestions. For me I added red pepper flakes and toasted sesame seeds. I didn't have sesame seed oil so I used canola oil. The ribs marinated for about 5 hours. I baked the ribs on a shallow pan in foil at 275° for almost two hours. I put the remaining marinade in a saucepan adding 3/4 cup more brown sugar. Reduced in half cooking slowly with a constant stir. Added cornstarch and water to thicken a bit more. Barbecued the ribs basting with marinade glaze. They were so tender and moist, melted in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyB63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Mine did not crisp up as much as this picture, but tasted good, I have to get them crisper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Super easy and delicious! I always add some type of citrus to help tenderizing. Other than that I follow this recipe to the letter. We've made these ribs on the BBQ and in the Crock Pot. Both ways is great. Marinating overnight is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I have made this so many times, and it has been perfect every time. It is really easy to prepare, as well. I have made it for a lot of different people, who have all raved about it. I've used different cuts of beef including tenderloin tips, sirloin tips, boneless short ribs, bone-in short ribs, and it has always been so tasty. Last night, I baked bone-in short ribs on a rack, in a convection oven setting at 275ºF for about 40 minutes. They turned out really well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is so delicious. I made it for a birthday party. It was a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
In case anyone is going...Wow, that's a long time to marinate. Do not cheat the marinate time. If you have TMJ, your jaws will get a workout. I'll rate it 5 stars because I know it'll be good next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
AWESOME!! I marinated my short ribs for 1 1/2 days...They smelled sooo good after coming off the grill I didnt even have time to take pic. I blinked and they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This marinade is really awesome! I couldnt find the proper cut on the ribs, but thought the marinade was great! Im trying to think of what else I could put this on! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Really easy and really good. I did make some adjustments. I added season salt, onion powder, black pepper, and red wine vinegar to the marinade. I also used the marinade once removing the ribs. I simmered it down with some chopped celery, bay leaves and minced onions and used it to drizzle on top of the finished grilled ribs. Once I drizzled the sauce, I put them in the oven covered on 350 to bake for 30 minutes and they came out very tender and full of flavor. This is a keeper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
So I've tried this recipe twice now, in two very different ways and either way hasn't turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States