Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Excellent and authentic recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLaPerre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Can't see how you can go wrong with this recipe. I put everything together in the crock pot and cooked it on low all day. I used pork baby back ribs, (I boiled them first), but this would work with chicken, beef, old socks, you name it. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Slow cooked in crock pot - fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Little Elm, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
There are many variations to this recipe that I suggest you try. In my family's recipe, we add diced (asian) pears and red wine. You can add other fruits to it as well and it turns out even more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
If you want to use a slow cooker, you may add some peeled potatoes chopped into chunks of 1 1/2 - 2 inches. It's pretty good as well, and use beef flanken instead of using california ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
this was really good. my husband loved it! I didnt have time to marinate the ribs as indicated, and it still came out great! i also ran out of brown sugar, so i substitued some molasses. I can't wait to make this again so i can marinate the meat for more flavor. I also crock potted it for about 6-7 hours on low. easy and yummy! I've also used this marinade on pork roast in the crock pot.. melt in your mouth goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelowyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
OMG! These short ribs are very good! At first I marinated for two days then put them in the broiler...WONDERFUL!! The second time (a week later) I marinated one day and put on the grill. Much better the first time but very good marinade! Serve with white rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
perfect! just like my friends mom makes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I added sliced green onions to the marinade, even for the ribs. Served this to a culinary arts teacher and a man who is a very picky eater--he ate several servings and she took the recipe to share with her class. Give it a try, it is wonderful. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Benson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this in the crock-pot and it turned out very well, next time I will try grilling/broiling it. I omitted the white sugar to help reduce calories and it was still very good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States