Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This recipe is unbelievable! I couldn't find beef short ribs so I used pork country ribs. I followed the recipe exactly as its written. my husband loves my cooking anyway, but he raved about these ribs. I made fried rice as a side dish. Wonderful together! I've got them marinating now for tonight. I think I'm going to try to boil some of the marinade and serve a little bit as a dipping sauce with them. I'll edit this and let you know how that turns out. These are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. It tastes just like the Galbi you have in the Korean restaurants in Koreatown here in LA. I can't always get short ribs with the bone in so the boneless large pack at Costco works just fine. I add a bit of crushed pineapple or minced Kiwi to the marinade to tenderize the meat. My Korean gf gave me that suggestion and it works wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddasiangirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
LOVE THIS!!! I cook this recipe all the time for parties. EVERYONE that eats them can not stop eating them. I don't like meat, but I can not get enough of these! YUMMY!! BEST recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
The flavor of the sauce is unbelievable. I boiled the marinade for a few minutes and poured it over rice. Delicious! While I enjoyed the charbroiled medium rare beef on the grill, next time I think I will use the crockpot for more tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Family favorite! Followed recipe as is, but only marinated for about 7 hours & they were wonderful. Served with an Asian Slaw & grilled asparagus...delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Excellent marinade - tastes like mom's (perhaps better!). I subbed balsamic vinegar in place of white, and grilled at high-heat to medium-rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Really good - and the marinade was good on pressed tofu as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great but too fatty for BK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe was great. My suggestion would be to marinate for the full 12 hours. I made the recipe almost as writted. I had more meat, so I doubled the marinade, excluding the garlic, onion, and sesame oil. I also added 2 ends of a green onion. I'm not a big sesame oil fan, thats why I didn't include the double amount. Regardless, great recipe. Will definately make again, but marinate longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Very easy to make and absolutely delicious. The hardest part is looking for that specific cut of meat, usually in Korean or Japanese supermarkets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States