Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I've had some real Korean Kalbi and this was not nearly as good as the kind in the restaurant, but my family enjoyed it nonetheless. I might try to add some other spices, such as ginger, green onion and sesame seeds to see if it resembles the real Korean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Really enjoy the flavours of this. washed meat before hand after reading a review. Marinaded beef ribs for approx 30 hours. Used pineapple for the last hour to help break down the meat to tenderize it. Worked great. However I made enough ribs to try two different methods of cooking, I've done the grill before and it wasn't operational from the cold weather so I fried them in the frying pan and tried slow roasting in the oven. The oven method did not turn out well. I think they need to be cooked fast. The frying pan was great to cook them. Fresh out of the pan they have a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made it as written...minus the sesame oil..I was out. My 14 year old son and I loved it!! Did it in the crock pot and served with egg noodles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brighton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Tastes great! Even my grandson (age 3) liked it. Easy and quick. I followed this recipe "to a t" and it was fine, although it may be a tad salty for some folks. Just remember, you need to plan ahead for this since it requires some time to marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Humphrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was a huge hit. Replaced the water w/ 7/up n added half of a pear (minced). So flavorful, tender & afflicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Don't boil your ribs for too long, keep an eye on them or they will fall apart. Putting this sauce on them and then broiling them makes them so good. I've used this sauce recipe on other meats as well. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Govocek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
The longer this marinates, the better it tastes...Soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This recipe is RIGHT ON. I only marinated the galbi for 30 minutes, and it still tasted amazing. I also used the marinade on chicken, and it was awesome. This marinade is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe twice and still do not care for it and do not think it is authentic. I lived in Korea for two years and this recipe doesn't taste like the dish I ate when I lived there. I tried it in the crockpot, as one reviewer suggested, that was terrible and not very flavorful as the crockput ends up having too much water and the meat was tasteless. The second time, I broiled it thinking it would be better and didn't care for the taste of the meat that way either. I marinated it a long time and was very disappointed. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States