Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Malookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
GREAT recipe. I grew up with this and it is spot on! Another secret is to soak the meat in coke overnight and then marinade - it will help to tenderize the meat. We also add jalapenos to the marinade to add some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariacheole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Hi folks I just wanted to add some information I thought might be helpful. I'm Korean & galbi is always a favorite! The crockpot method everyone is mentioning is actually a legit Korean Dish called Galbi Chim (Braised Shortribs) Make sure and skim off the fat when it's done.. there will be a lot! I like to use shortribs that are a few inchs across. Makes for a nice meaty piece. Additions of carrot, chestnut, boiler onion and potato is delish! Eat w/some steamed rice as the flavors will be pretty concentrated to eat alone. Tip from my mom: remember to rinse off the ribs well before marinading. Give the bones a good rub with your hands under some running water or you will bite in and get bone bits. Ouch! We like to just leave them in a colander to drain a bit. Also the addition of 1/2 a grated kiwi or some pineapple will really make the meat tender if you intend to grill it. Just make sure not to leave it in the marinade for more than a day. I got carried away once and my meat fell apart as I was trying to put it on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
709 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Very good recipe! Used beef shanks and slow-cooked for 2 hours. Also added some carrots and shiitake mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I am updating review... I now LOVE it. Versatile like no other. I was searching for an easy crockpot (quick version is to simmer in pot on stove) recipe for beef ribs for two people. I didn't have time to let them marinate. I didn't have sesame oil and I used olive oil, eyeballed all other ingredients. I slow cooked them for about 5 hours (2 hours for simmering, be sure to use onion & garlic if nothing else) and they were about to fall apart. We threw them on the bbq and used Pappy's White Lightning bbq sauce from Bass Pro Shop. YUM! The ribs were so tender, so tasty even before we put the bbq sauce on. You might not need oil if you are slow cooking this as my ribs were already fatty, but I won't take anything away from this simple and flexible recipe. We used to bake our ribs before bbq but my husband wants me to do them this way from now on. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninacooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Awesome recipe!! followed everything exactly make 1-2 a week. goes great with korean salad with sesame dressing that is also on this site..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dollarbill22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Very good marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This was excellent! Everyone in my family loved this dish. Followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Langley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was good. I adapted and cooked in the slow cooker, and it turned out delicious. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
these were good and will probably make again, but they weren't 5* in my book. I had plenty of korean food while there for a year and these were a bit too vinegary and peppery then that of which I remember. Koreans like their food hot and spicy not so much peppery. LikeI said these were good for themselves not necessarily Korean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States