Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Really great flavor, however a bit salty - would probably use the low sodium soy sauce next time. We didn't have time to marinate overnight, so our ribs marinated for about an hour or two, then we threw the whole thing, marinade and all, into the oven and cooked it low and slow. Delicious!! I served this with fresh broccoli that I also cooked in the oven with some of the marinade from the meat, a perfect side dish. Looking forward to trying this again and doing the overnight marinade & grill - perhaps might not be as salty then as well. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberjoih

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North East, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Pretty good but not authentic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I cooked these in the slow cooker then finished them under the grill in the oven after brushing them with some ketchup manis, brown sugar and sprinkling of sesame seeds. Very tasty ribs. A little on the salty side but not so much that you couldn't eat them. Next time I would add some ginger & chilli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Yummy! I was afraid to use a crockpot but did try it....at about the 4 hour mark, I drained it all and added more sauce for about another hour or 2.(quite oily) It darkened up and was so tender, sometimes grilling can leave the meat a little tough. I also added onions and they caramelized with it. Next time I will add potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by canadiangirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made this for my wife and I last night. I came across some 'last day of sale' boneless short ribs at the local grocery store and had to try it out. My wife has an allergy to garlic, so I left it out, and I'm not sure that the garlic is even necessary.. Of course, I haven't tried it with the garlic, but it was superb without it. Absolutely excellent! I look forward to trying the marinade with regular beef ribs next time I get them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Vineland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Very good recipe. Instead of white & brown sugar you can use honey, which works just as well. Although the soy sauce version tastes good...in my opinion using teriyaki sauce instead gives it a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheWhopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Both my BF and I enjoyed this. I marinated it for 18 hours before he cooked it on the grill... it smelled so delicious as it was cooking. He took a bite and said, "This is good, babe." I didn't change anything in the recipe, besides adding about 3/4 cup of Pepsi to help tenderize and sweeten. We still have half a batch still in the fridge waiting to be grilled... I can only imagine the flavor that will have.. it's been already been a few days! This will be a good standby recipe for Korean style BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
soooo Ono (good)!! In Hawaii, we say "Kal-Bi", no matter, it totally rocks. I couldn't remember how make the marinade, thanks so much! I didn't add the Pepsi (from Brian's suggestion), but I do add 1/4 to 1/2 can of Pineapple/Passion Orange juice by Hawaiian Sun. Not sure if its available in the mainland states though, so if you'd like, just add 1/2 cp pineapple juice and maybe a squeeze of orange juice. Alright!!! Now we kau kau. (grind)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.Naehu808

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was excellent and so easy to make. I also cooked this in the crockpot and the meat was so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was very easy and very good. I didn't use the sesame seed because I don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat's Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States