Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KathyB63
Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This was an easy recipe to make. I read quite a few reviews, which I used some of the tips and suggestions. For me I added red pepper flakes and toasted sesame seeds. I didn't have sesame seed oil so I used canola oil. The ribs marinated for about 5 hours. I baked the ribs on a shallow pan in foil at 275° for almost two hours. I put the remaining marinade in a saucepan adding 3/4 cup more brown sugar. Reduced in half cooking slowly with a constant stir. Added cornstarch and water to thicken a bit more. Barbecued the ribs basting with marinade glaze. They were so tender and moist, melted in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyB63

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Mine did not crisp up as much as this picture, but tasted good, I have to get them crisper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Super easy and delicious! I always add some type of citrus to help tenderizing. Other than that I follow this recipe to the letter. We've made these ribs on the BBQ and in the Crock Pot. Both ways is great. Marinating overnight is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I have made this so many times, and it has been perfect every time. It is really easy to prepare, as well. I have made it for a lot of different people, who have all raved about it. I've used different cuts of beef including tenderloin tips, sirloin tips, boneless short ribs, bone-in short ribs, and it has always been so tasty. Last night, I baked bone-in short ribs on a rack, in a convection oven setting at 275ºF for about 40 minutes. They turned out really well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is so delicious. I made it for a birthday party. It was a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
In case anyone is going...Wow, that's a long time to marinate. Do not cheat the marinate time. If you have TMJ, your jaws will get a workout. I'll rate it 5 stars because I know it'll be good next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
AWESOME!! I marinated my short ribs for 1 1/2 days...They smelled sooo good after coming off the grill I didnt even have time to take pic. I blinked and they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This marinade is really awesome! I couldnt find the proper cut on the ribs, but thought the marinade was great! Im trying to think of what else I could put this on! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Really easy and really good. I did make some adjustments. I added season salt, onion powder, black pepper, and red wine vinegar to the marinade. I also used the marinade once removing the ribs. I simmered it down with some chopped celery, bay leaves and minced onions and used it to drizzle on top of the finished grilled ribs. Once I drizzled the sauce, I put them in the oven covered on 350 to bake for 30 minutes and they came out very tender and full of flavor. This is a keeper. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
So I've tried this recipe twice now, in two very different ways and either way hasn't turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States