Korean BBQ Short Ribs (Gal-Bi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Absolute perfection! After marinating overnight I browned the ribs in a small bit of oil, placed in the crockpot, simmered the remaining marinade in the same pan to reduce a bit and scrape up the brown bits, then poured over the ribs and cooked on "HI" for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
delish! substituted sprite for water. 1/2 low sodium soy sauce and 1/2 coconut soy sauce. dumped it all in the crockpot and simmered on low for 8hrs. was soooo good. meat fell off the bones. ate with egg noodles. leftovers went into the fridge and peeled off the fat the next day. chopped the meat up, removed the bones and ate again over fried rice. can't wait to make it again for company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Really very good. I changed it up a bit. I lightly dredged the ribs in flour salty and pepper and browned in bacon grease. Deglazed pan with beef stock an added with chopped bacon and some of the grease to the liquid and cooked in my pressure cooker on high pressure for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I've had some real Korean Kalbi and this was not nearly as good as the kind in the restaurant, but my family enjoyed it nonetheless. I might try to add some other spices, such as ginger, green onion and sesame seeds to see if it resembles the real Korean taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Really enjoy the flavours of this. washed meat before hand after reading a review. Marinaded beef ribs for approx 30 hours. Used pineapple for the last hour to help break down the meat to tenderize it. Worked great. However I made enough ribs to try two different methods of cooking, I've done the grill before and it wasn't operational from the cold weather so I fried them in the frying pan and tried slow roasting in the oven. The oven method did not turn out well. I think they need to be cooked fast. The frying pan was great to cook them. Fresh out of the pan they have a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Made it as written...minus the sesame oil..I was out. My 14 year old son and I loved it!! Did it in the crock pot and served with egg noodles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brighton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Tastes great! Even my grandson (age 3) liked it. Easy and quick. I followed this recipe "to a t" and it was fine, although it may be a tad salty for some folks. Just remember, you need to plan ahead for this since it requires some time to marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was a huge hit. Replaced the water w/ 7/up n added half of a pear (minced). So flavorful, tender & afflicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Don't boil your ribs for too long, keep an eye on them or they will fall apart. Putting this sauce on them and then broiling them makes them so good. I've used this sauce recipe on other meats as well. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States