Korean BBQ Galbi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Forgot to mention after you combine the garlic, onion, pear, soy sauce, sugar, honey, & sesame seed oil, taste the sauce. if you want it sweeter you can add more sugar/honey/cola also instead of honey you can also used cola. pear is used as a meat tenderizer so you can substitute w/ kiwi or rice wine too! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I have made this a couple times and it's super yummy! Made it exactly like the recipe states and it drew 2 of my neighbors over to find out what I had on the grill that smelled so good! I always make extra so that we can have it again for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Excellent barbeque marinade recipe. My family and friends love it when we put this on the grill. Finger licking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
this was a home run, i am from Hawaii and this was just like eating at the local drive in, i made the usual Hawaiian sides, rice and macaroni salad. ONO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is one of my favorite dishes from Korea. Just to clarify from the earlier review, Ssamchang is a spicy bean paste and Gojujang is also a paste made from finely crushed red peppers. Served with steamed white rice, this is a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
In Korea, Galbi is served in lettuce leaves with Ssamchang and sometimes Gojujang - these are spicy condiments and quite tasty. You can probably get them in an Asian grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This made a delicious dinner for us. I did have to change a few things (sorry review purists!) because of personal preferences. I had bonesless short ribs, but this was the recipe I wanted to use. I only used one cup of sweeteners (about 7/8 cup of brown sugar and a tablespoon or so of honey), and went short on the sesame oil. I only marinated this for 8 hours, and the taste was very delicious. I loved how they grill because you get crunchy parts on the edges and the insides were perfectly medium rare and perfect. I served this over sticky rice, a perfect complement to the meat! I have more to BBQ waiting for us, and I can't wait! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I'm Korean and this is the best galbi recipe... as is. No need to change anything. I wonder if honey is the secret ingredient that gives it the sweet glaze like coating that you can't get with other recipes. I also tried this recipe with the boneless short rib meat from Costco (which is better for braised short ribs) and still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is an awesome recipe! I make this once every few months for my fiance. I simply combine all marinade ingredients in a blender and blend them, and let the meat marinate for 2-3 days in a ziplock bag in the fridge. I use 5 kiwis instead of an asian pear, and I like a little more brown sugar than the recipe calls for. Also, when it's time to serve them, I like to cut them into segments with my kitchen scissors, which makes for a great hands-on meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled BBQ Short Ribs

Discover the secret to incredibly tender grilled ribs with almost no cleanup.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States