Korean BBQ Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
This was the best marinade EVER!! Used dried chilis chopped up. Very good over rice. I will definitely be using this again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
Full circle! I'm an American living in Korea and I have shared this recipe with Koreans who absolutely love it! Locally chicken sticks are more popular than teriyaki (Japanese) bowls. These are milder and meatier than yakitori in Japan. They are made with thigh meat and they taste great already. My marinade has made the stand I shared it with MUCH more successful. This is certainly sufficient research for a commercial venture. If the pattern of American's here is any indication, such a stand at a ball park, a street corner, an airport or a campus would be fantastically successful. So Il-Byung means private first class So in Korean. One can only assume that this guy (or maybe a gal) studied Korean in the Army or lived over here and pickled up the culture. But the chicken bowls mentioned are a U.S. phenomenon. Scott
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
His recipe is awesome. I don't think I'll use another marinade again!! I used it on boneless skinless chicken thighs and ate it with rice, Korean paste and lettuce. Yum!! I loved the spicy pepper paste. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
I have been looking for a stir fry sauce and this was great! I didn't have chile paste so I used crushed red peppers and it was still perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J A M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. I boiled the left over marinade and added cornstarch to thicken it up and then topped the sacuce and chicken with toasted sesame seed. This was a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSULLI_212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This is an awesome recipe..Ya get tired of the same old thing and this is wonderful. Very easy and my husband loved it. Was a little sweet for me so I added a couple Tablespoons of vinegar and didn't have the paste but the crushed hot peppers did great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I loved this!! I substituted red pepper flakes for the paste. It was really great to find a home-made marinade that I like. Gave my chicken a sweet, tangy carmelized texture. I marinaded it for quite a long time, though. Anyway, I'll definitely be using this again, next time I'll add more pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This is definitely the best marinade I ever had! The sauce was terriffic. Grilling was not that messy too. And the best part of it was the leftover sauce...I tried stewing beef cubes in it and topped it with toasted sesame seeds and slices of leeks. Yummy!!!! It's sweet and hot. A very good topping for rice. Just make sure you adjust the chili so that the kids will enjoy them too!!! My son asked me to store more beef stews in the freezer using this receipe so that he won't miss having them when am out. GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
This is an excellent marinade. I marinated chicken in it for our 4th of July barbecue and got rave reviews. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Marinade for Chicken

This versatile marinade is great for grilling chicken, and is simple to make.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States