Korean BBQ Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I thought this was great! I used brown sugar instead of white sugar but that was my only substitution. I grilled the chicken and it was tender and juicy I didnt think it was too salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
5 stars for being an awesome base recipe.. I started by following the recipe, honest. I did not have time to marinate.. decided to use as a stir-fry sauce.. Used half- white sugar and half- brown sugar. added cornstarch. added garlic. used minced ginger, not dry. used dry minced onion instead of dry powder. veggies, chicken, rice noodles... yum finished off with a sprinkle of sesame oil, sesame seed and green onions.. The bomb. My 12 yr old scarfed it down...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
used half of a whole chicken. marinade over night. added 3 minced garlic cloves. substituted half teaspoon red pepper flakes for the chili paste. roasted in marinade in dutch oven at 400 degrees for an hour. 5 stars from all 5 of us. thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spaceecasee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
You can't go wrong with this. I don't even cook the marinade, just stir it up. I don't measure the ingredients, either, just estimate. It's a forgiving recipe. Try fresh lime juice in place of the lemon--YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Way too salty. I normally like things on the salty side, but this was too much. Would use low sodium soya sauce next time, or reduce substantially. Also will try brown sugar instead of white next time. Added fresh minced garlic, sesame oil, sesame seeds and used hot chile peppers in place of the chile paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This recipe is good, however I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and I had to add garlic. Garlic is an essential ingredient in Korean cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This is an awesome marinade! Very versatile! After thickening up the sauce in a small sauce pan, I used it to coat some pan-fried tofu! Delicious! I also used up the leftover sauce with a drizzle of white vinegar as a salad dressing. I also tried in on chicken and it was a big hit with my picky Korean father! As the other reviewers suggested, I changed the recipe by adding a drizzle of sesame oil and a dash of garlic powder for an even consistency. I also omitted the lemon juice because I didn't have any lemons on hand. Oh, for this recipe, try to use hot chilie paste (gochujang, which you can find it at any Korean grocery store) because it makes a big difference than just adding the conventional red pepper flakes. If you can't find gochujang, then substitute by adding a bit of Gochugaru, which is Korean hot pepper powder. Next time, I think I'm going to put this sauce over baked fish! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Really good. I added a little more chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambrad99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kittanning, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stephens City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
excellent! It would be an easy marinade to keep in the refrigerator as a stir-fry sauce. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
OK flavor, but we were expecting more ooomph since the marinade had a fair amount of chile paste in it. Marinade and raw chicken froze and defrosted well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Chicken Wings

See how to make sweet and tangy, Asian-inspired BBQ chicken wings.

Marinade for Chicken

This versatile marinade is great for grilling chicken, and is simple to make.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States