Korean BBQ Beef (Pul-Kogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Oh my god! These korean bbq short ribs are absolutely perfect!! I can't say enough about them--my family loved them and ate them up faster than anything else--they are already begging, BEGGING for more. Easy to prepare and EXTREMELY tasty! I do have to say though that the rice wine is hard to find if you are not used to cooking Asian foods. Rice vinegar is NOT the same as rice wine!! If you go to an Asian market though, there will be a whole shelf devoted to different kinds of rice wine--just get the regular clear one. Also, I omitted the sesame seeds and they still came out perfect. I also think I am going to marinade it a little bit longer than the 2-3 hours so I could let that perfect flavor soak in even more--to each their own. THANK YOU for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
good recipe..best I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Very Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This was very tasty. I used Rice Vinegar instead of Rice Wine as I couldn't find it. Served in pita bread with fresh tomato & lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Tanya, these were so delicious. I made it last night and I can't stop thinking of it. So tasty - I marinatred it for 1 full day.. and I did not use any ginger (i forgot to buy some). The beef had such a complex taste - we wanted to savour every bite. Thanks so much, my fiancee and I will make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I enjoyed this dish - I subbed some kiwi I had for the pear, and did chunks of beef on kebobs on the grill. My toddler even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This was delicious! We paired it with two other recipes from this site, Korean Cucumber Salad and Korean squash, as well as some jasmine rice. We heat up the marinade and put it over the meat and rice. There was a lot of slicing and chopping involved, but, it was a lot of fun to prepare with my husband...Rachel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon VanSickle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This recipe was absolutley delicious....a great combination of flavors. I am going to try the marinade again with beef shortribs, as another reviewer suggested. I did leave the steak in the marinade overnight, which was the only change made to the recipe. A definite 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This is a great marinade.The meat was really tender and flavorful but not overpowering. I marinated a 1.7 lb steak overnight in 2 pieces (doulbed the marinade which seemed like too much), grilled it in the 2 pieces and and served with steamed rice. I'll use this marinade again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Outstanding!I marinated the steak all day and did it on the grill..the sauce sort of caramelized and it was oh so good! Served it with rice and one of those napa cabbage/ramen noodle Asian type slaws and we all thought we had died and gone to food heaven. Thanks a million!! Rice vinegar worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States