Korean BBQ Beef (Pul-Kogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe only changing the rice wine to rice vinegar due to not having any. I made a double batch to freeze ahead.When I pulled 1 out I let it marinate a day in a half. It was so good my picky eater took the rest to school for lunch without a crumb to spare. This dish is sweet and spicy. Just right. Not hot, but very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Excellent and yet very simple and versitile! I use rice wine vinegar as well and omit the sesame seeds because I never buy them and have them in the house. I also omit the green onions sometimes when I am out of them and this recipe still comes out wonderful! My family love the sauce. You will not be disappointed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowmix318

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is one of the better Korean BBQ marinades I've come across. The only thing I added was some sriracha sauce (about 1/2 tbsp) as I like a little heat. As I like my beef a little pink in the middle, I marinated a whole flat iron steak (1.5 lbs), broiled it (5 to 6 minutes a side), and then thinly sliced it. I have also done this in the past with a flank steak. (The marinade may not penetrate the center of the steak if you do it this way.) To save some time on prep, I put all the marinade ingredients, except the sesame seeds, into my mini food processor and made a puree. I added the pureed mixture to a ziploc bag with beef and sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Don't forget to hang on to the marinade! If you boil it to kill any lingering bacteria from the raw beef, you'll end up with a great sauce for some stir-fried or grilled veggies on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spec2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
did not have sesame seeds or the pear, but still came out delicious!!! even my 2 year old ate it :-) and she is very particular about her food. Next time I'll make as written here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Taste of sesame oil is too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigDaddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Great recipe. I eliminated the pear, rice wine, and ginger - only because I don't enjoy these components. The rest really took me back to the pulkogi of my youth growing up in Hawaii. Every week our family would eat Korean BBQ. Just get a good helping of sticky rice and kimchee to garnish and I am 12 again! Wonderful!! Also of note, I mix the marinade, put it in a gallon ziplok freezer bag and throw in my cut meat, push out the air and let it marinate overnight. You would NOT believe the effect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SISTERTASH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was really good, even though I made it wrong. I emptied the beef along with the marinade into a skillet, so it didn't have the charred effect. Next time, I'll empty the beef onto our grilling basket, which will strain the excess marinade, and then grill the meat in the basket. Outstanding flavor! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was really tasty! I followed the recipe exactly except for the pear. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Unfortunately the grocery store I went to didn't have sirloin so I ended up getting flank steaks or something like that. The meat didn't cook quite like I would have liked, but the marinade is AMAZING! I put extra ginger in. I used vegetable oil and rice vinegar instead because I didn't have the other ingredients and it tasted just fine. I have purchased beef top sirloin this time and am going to re-try the recipe with the right meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Srkosturos

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States