Korean BBQ Beef (Pul-Kogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Until today I would have thought the only way I could ever make pulkogi this good would be if I were reincarnated as an Ajuma. Didn't have pears but applesauce worked just fine. Marinated an extra hour or two. Two pounds of beef fed 8 of us with hearty appetites--and some leftovers! That's what I love about Korean food: the amazing meat is just the beginning--then there's the kimchi and the seaweed and the lettuce and the steamy rice and the gochu jang. Wow, feeling satisfied and already looking forward to having the leftovers for lunch tomorrow! Thanks for sharing this recipe Tanya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Unreal!!! Absolutely DELICIOUS!!!!!! Made the recipe exactly except used thinly sliced London broil and marinated overnight. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
We normally make bulgogi on the grill. I was surprised by how good this was, even though I totally do miss the charred crispiness that the grill adds. This is by no means a second-rate cousin to grilled bulgogi, though, it's more like the difference between grilled burgers and pan-fried: can't really fairly compare one to the other as both are so good. I did not like the pear being so small, it got all squishy. In the future I would either use pear juice/nectar or large chunks of pears so that I could eat them separately from the meat as the texture just didn't please me. *It is possible that my pear was too ripe, too.* Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Good flavor, considering only marinated 2 hours. Was more soft than "crispy". Will try on BBQ next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TIFFANY LENNING
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
My first attempt at Bulgogi & this was perfect. I didn't change a thing. Marinated for a few hours & then broiled on the oven broiler pan - wonderful. I prefer my Bulgogi extremely thin & that was probably the hardest/longest part of making the recipe, but it was worth it. Will be making this again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANY LENNING

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pace, Florida, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I've been to a lot of Korean places for BBQ and this is the closest I have gotten. Loved it. Very sweet but full of flavor. Cooked it on a counter top grill and it was perfect. They come out great. Definitely try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I tried this recipe a couple weeks ago, and it is really good,and easy! The only things I thought were missing were some vegetables and more beef,so I'm making it again tonight and I will post my results soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Wow, wow, wow... This might be the tastiest thing ever prepared in my humble little kitchen. I can't believe how easy it is. I have a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treecitynigh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne England

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I have never been to a Korean restaurant, but if this is what the food is like, I'm going the first chance I get! This was delicious!! I made exactly as listed. It was wonderful and I ate it 3 days straight until it was gone! The hubby hates white rice and I hate brown rice so I made it with Beef Rice A Roni. It was a big hit. I will definately make this again. Thanks Tanya!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States