Korean BBQ Beef (Pul-Kogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great recipe! 10x better than bulgogi I've had at various restaurants. I was too lazy to pick up a grill pan for this, but a regular pan worked fine (I just drained a bit of the liquid away before cooking). The ginger really stood out and was a bit strong for my taste, so I'll most likely cut the amount in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
mouthwatering, makes it easier to nt GO OUT to eat! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was tasty but I really prefer Bulgogi over Pul-gogi. I used beef tenderloin and didn't marinate the beef. The flavors still soaked in because the tenderloin was melt in your mouth good. Served with "Quick Sesame Green Beans," "Korean-style Seaweed Soup," "Chinese Cabbage Salad I," and leftover "Sesame Noodles."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Just excellent! Made as described and it was devoured quickly. The meat was extremely tender and I loved the slight sweetness lent by the pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Very tasty recipe. I marinated the meat for just over an hour (lost track of time...oops), and it turned out fine. Served it with jasmine rice, and the skillet was scraped clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was pretty darn good. I will make it again. The pear wasn't very strong. Might add a whole pair next time. Also might try it on the grill for variety. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
The best recipe I have come across. I made it and used it with noodles, cucumbers and bean sprouts to make vietnamese spring rolls with nuoc cham sauce. I'm sure it would go great with rice as well. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
So awesome! And so easy! I hate to cook, I'm really bad at it, and am extremely picky, but I love this recipe! So do my picky kids! I've been using an apple, because pears are expensive and hard to come by where I live, and I leave out the ginger, as none of us are fans, but my meat still comes out tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This recipe is delicious and very, very easy to make. My fiance loved this. It is his new favorite homemade meal (with Japanese rice or Thai sticky rice). I used an Asian pear. My fiance hates onion so I left the onion out of the recipe but it tasted great. Do not marinate longer than 2-4 hours because the meat will become tough if marinated for a long time (like overnight). I made too much and the leftover meat that we cooked the next day was not as tender as the meat we had cooked the night before. If you use a grilling quality steak for the beef, then don't cook the meat well--cook it only to rare or medium rare for maximum flavor and tenderness. This recipe deserves 5 stars because it is so easy to make and is so good. We have eaten this many times in restaurants and this version is much better than any restaurant version either of us has ever eaten. I think this will be one of your favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and loved the results. I also reserved the left over marinade and reduced it to give people the option of putting an extra dose of flavor on the finished product. I used Kikkoman Koterin Mirin, a sweet rice wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States