Korean BBQ Beef (Pul-Kogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Wonderful! We changed nothing and it was magnificent. Perfect with rice and stir-fry vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is the Korean BBQ recipe to end all Korean BBQ recipes. It is absolutely delicious. I used a small Asian pear,(I have a tree in my yard-I love that tree) grated, and followed all else exactly. I am never going back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is a good dish. A bit sweeter than I was expecting. Next time I will half the sugar or omit it altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Wow, this is our second Korean Dish we have made recently (Bi Bim Bop was our first) and we are in love. The flavors are incredible, and we only marinated for an hour and a half. Made with sticky white rice and sauteed Mushrooms and broccoli in the remaining marinade. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Delicious recipe. Very simple. Only change I made was to reserved marinade (after steak was taken out). The amount of marinade left after taking the steak out was very small. So to the marinade being boiled I added: 2 T Hoisen sauce 1/2-3/4 C chicken stock 1 T corn starch Mix well and boil for at least 10 minutes. Then drizzle sauce over grilled meat and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I would rather die than eat a pear so I left it out. Still absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I couldn't believe how fabulous this was! I'm not much of a cook, and it turned out great, much to the happy surprise of my fiancée and myself. Note that I did substitute rice wine vinegar for rice wine, because I realized too late that we had no rice wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe only changing the rice wine to rice vinegar due to not having any. I made a double batch to freeze ahead.When I pulled 1 out I let it marinate a day in a half. It was so good my picky eater took the rest to school for lunch without a crumb to spare. This dish is sweet and spicy. Just right. Not hot, but very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Excellent and yet very simple and versitile! I use rice wine vinegar as well and omit the sesame seeds because I never buy them and have them in the house. I also omit the green onions sometimes when I am out of them and this recipe still comes out wonderful! My family love the sauce. You will not be disappointed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meowmix318

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is one of the better Korean BBQ marinades I've come across. The only thing I added was some sriracha sauce (about 1/2 tbsp) as I like a little heat. As I like my beef a little pink in the middle, I marinated a whole flat iron steak (1.5 lbs), broiled it (5 to 6 minutes a side), and then thinly sliced it. I have also done this in the past with a flank steak. (The marinade may not penetrate the center of the steak if you do it this way.) To save some time on prep, I put all the marinade ingredients, except the sesame seeds, into my mini food processor and made a puree. I added the pureed mixture to a ziploc bag with beef and sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States