Korean BBQ Beef (Pul-Kogi) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was delicious! I didn't have rice wine so I used seasoned rice vinegar and it came out fine. I marinated it for about 3 1/2 hours, grilled it (so I didn't cut it really thin), and it was hard for everyone to stop eating it. I have two sons - 9 and 12 - and they both said it was the best "steak" they had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This so Delicious, A True Korean Delicacy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Yum. Tasted a lot like my roommate's Korean mother makes. Not quite the same, but very close and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GotRice?
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Great recipe! Even after marinating it for only 4 hours, it still got great reviews. I will try to marinate it overnight next time. No grill pan, so I cooked it in a skillet, and served it with white rice, as suggested. I've never cooked with pear before, and was very impressed with the results. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GotRice?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I used thinly sliced london broil (about 3/4 lb) and added some red pepper flakes. I let the meat marinate for 8 hours before broiling it. It was delicious--tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Very good recipe. I added some chili flake to perk it up a bit, and also, when cooking the beef, threw in vegetables. It's the most authentic-tasting recipe I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I've had this dish at restaurants a couple of times, and while I enjoyed the flavor, the cuts of meat were rather tough and stringy. The sirloin I used was almost melt-in-the-mouth, but I didn't like the flavor quite as much. It was very good, but not quite what I remembered. Anyway, we enjoyed this, and I would make it again. Thanks, Tanya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
being korean-american myself, i'm very picky about my bul-ko-gi. there are tons of bul-ko-gi recipes out on the web (and i've tried many bad ones), and none have tasted as authentic as this! this recipe took me back to when my grandma would make it for me as a kid. not to mention, my husband loved this recipe too. this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e-s-t-a-r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Wow, great flavor! I didnt have a grill pan, so I made it in the skillet and it was wonderful - but real pulgogi is kind of crisp and I think you definitely need the grill pan. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Emery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Delicious. The meat was soft and flavorful, and wasn't salty like many recipes turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States