Kona Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was ok but I have tried other sweet and sour chicken recipes that were far better. Simple enough and the flavour was ok. I guess my hopes were higher with this due to the wine inclusion however, I was a bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Um... this ROCKED. I don't usually love the slow cooker recipes on this site, I've found they tend to be bland. The only minor changes I made was adding some garlic, seasoning the chicken first and using bonless skinless breasts (had to reduce cook time to about two hours). They have great flavor. I didn't thicken the sauce this time but I will next time. It's definitely a good dish and I am happy I made it. For how easy it is it's definitely worthy of happening again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very tasty...I added some chopped garlic and ginger. Also used chicken breasts and cooked for three hours on LOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lynn
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was a disaster. It looked very nice but the overall taste was unimpressive. I found the chicken was not "falling off the done" after 7 hrs of cooking. All measurements and ingredients were used according to the recipe. To make it worse this smelled repulsive the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Letohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Mmmmm mmmm good! This is beyond easy and so tasty. A couple of modifications I made- I used about two lbs. of chicken breasts out of preference. I added 2 minced garlic cloves and 1 tsp. sesame oil... we add garlic to everything! I only had to cook for 4 hours on LOW. It was fall-apart perfect! In the end, I whisked 1 cup of flour with water in a separate bowl, added it to the slow cooker juice (chicken was on a separate plate), and poured that mixture into a sauce pan. After boiling for 1 minute, it was thick and perfect! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Fabulous!! I used red wine because that's what I had at home and after tasting it I think the white would not be strong enough for my taste- a fortunate change! In the crockpot I also added a couple sliced carrots. I served it on a bed of rice, with a layer of sauteed greens, and topped with the chicken, carrots and sauce. Can I say again? Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very easy and pretty good. I think I'll try doing it on low for longer next time. We took the sauce and thickened it up with a bit of flour in a skillet afterwards. I served it with rice and some veggies, it made a good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
quick, easy, average tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I thought this was ok. The flavor was ok but seemed to need something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States