Kolaczki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Simple recipe and delicious! Exactly what my husband's Mom use to make....maybe even better! Try them, you won't be disappointed. ~Connie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
It has too much of a yeast flavor. Maybe it would be ok with only 3 packets of the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this recipe for a cookie-baking contest at work and they turned out fantastic. I used apricot-pineapple preserves... mmmm mmm. Reminded me when I was a kid and we made these at school. The important part is the shortening - makes the pastry flaky. I did not use the packets of yeast as I have yeast in bulk - measured out the equivalent. I did not have any trouble with it being yeasty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I use this recipe every year for christmas cookies! Everyone says they taste just like grandma's even without using cream cheese like her recipe did. I like to cut the dough into squares a I feel its just easier to cut strait lines with a pizza cutter then bother with cookie cutters. I also roll it out more because I find that the dough is less likely to crumble when folding the corners over if it is thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
FABULOUS recipe... Must be careful when rolling out the dough. I placed a pastry bag over my roller and rolled on ONE direction so the dough wouldn't fall apart.. Not overly sweet and a perfect cultural treat for the Holidays..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I think this is a great recipe-I've used it twice! Although I think the 24 servings is a bit off; I easily ended up with close to 40. I think the trick is to just roll out a little dough at a time and leave the rest in the fridge. And use plenty of confectioners sugar! Also, make sure the dough is very thin. If it's too thick it will not cook right. My favorite fillings are lemon curd, blueberry and raspberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
It is a great cookie. I too spent Christmas Eve at my grandmother's house eating these delicious cookies. However, she didn't put jam in the center, she used a nut mixture in the center. Ground nuts, butter, sugar, milk, and vanilla. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
a little bland..could have used some kind of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Great Kolaczki's, brought me back to my grandma's house 20 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
This recipe makes a lot of cookies. I made some apricot and some raspberry. One problem I had was getting mine to stay closed while baking. Perhaps I didn't roll my dough tin enough. I also thought my yeast would never dissolve. But once they baked they were delicious. I would make them again! They were a hit at my pre-schoolers "Polish" celebration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States