Kolachky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
AMAZING! Followed exactly, only change was halving the recipe. It made about 50 medium-large kolachky. Filled with homemade apricot jam and baked on parchment. Flaky, rich, sweet, yum. 12/16/2011: Made these again today and they are just soooo good. Not a difficult recipe to follow at all. Do not overmix-it will keep the patry tender. If you haven't worked with kolachky dough before, a half batch is easier to manage. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious! These are now a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bethany
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Awesome, exactly what I was looking for and relatively easy to make. I made raspberry, poppyseed and walnut filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeezaG
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is the recipe I've used for the dough for many years. I roll my dough thinner and I cut my squares smaller, so I get many more cookies out of 1 batch. I like to use jars of apricot filling and prune filling from Baker's. They are always the highlight of my cookie trays at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Delicious! Easy to follow recipe! I like trying different fillings with it. Better then my Czech best friends kolache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very much like a traditional Slovak treat! My grandma and dad were thrilled to hear I had made these for a special Christmas treat. The dough was a little different to work with. Next year I will make smaller treats and let the fillings ooze a little. I used Solo brand poppyseed and apricot fillings. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe is Very Good! And most important when I rolled it out on wax paper using flour and confectioners' sugar....it was Great! This is certainly a keeper!! So many other recipes like this tend to make me swear during the roll out process!! I got 90 cookies and in my oven they only needed to bake for 14 minutes! Thanks Patricia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I loved this little cookie. However, I tried the poppyseed, and that one didn't make the cut. I did end up purchasing a can of almond filling....and holy moly, it was amazing. The nut mixture was tasty as well. I advise using the almond mixing instead, soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The dough is very easy to make and a breeze to work with. I was surprised how much it fluffed up in the oven. These are really delicious - not too sweet and perfect with apricot or raspberry preserves inside, no matter how you roll them. Personally, I found that the smaller ones I made turned out better... I wrapped them like a wonton - bite sized. This is nice for breakfast/brunch or with coffee any time of day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenocarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These taste like flour (astringent). They aren't sweet like a shortbread nor flaky like pie pastry. We were so very disappointed. I'm sincerely puzzled why they were given such great reviews. Are they supposed to just taste like flour? (I only used 4 cups per the recipe and the dough handled fine.) I didn't tell my family my reaction to them and just watched when they ate them. They either took the one bite and no more. I finally resorted to kneading 1 cup of powdered sugar into the dough and then continued with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States