Kolachky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
really good and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and they turned out very dry and flavorless. I had a problem with the dough remaining sticky. It was unworkable with 4 cups of flour so I added another. It was still sticky but I managed to roll it out and create the cookies. I used the walnut filling as specified. 1lb of nuts to 1/2 cup of honey? That turned out to be a very dry filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My Great Grandmother was German and made "Kolaches"...and this recipe took me back to my childhood the minute I bit into the finished product.....Perfect! I'm not sure if it is the exact one she made, but it took me back to the childhood Christmases . thank you! Perfect blend of everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I was so happy that I found this recipe! It's one of my favorite Christmas cookies. It was not as sweet as I had hoped - but lots of powdered sugar cured that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
A really good Kolachky recipe. My parents are both from Poland - i have tried many many recipes to see if i could find one that was close to what my mother use to make - that didn't 'open up' in the baking process. This is the best one i have found so far. They do open up a bit - but if you really press the dough together - it will stay closed - so its more of just handling it properly - i found they worked better if you pinched the dough in the middle - rather than close up the ends (the different ways of folding)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Yummy...filled them with homemade blackberry jam. Only thing....mine were not done in 15-17 minutes....mine took closer to about 20 minutes. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
My great-grandparents were from Bohemia (what they called it back in the day). I've always made these using yeast but no more! These are really, really good and will be making them for my family on Thanksgiving. Thank you for posting this recipe- it's great to keep our heritage alive. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
My boyfriends family makes kolachky for all major holidays, and I've had several version. Some are like cookies, others are bread pastries but the term is pretty universal in eastern Europe. His family makes cookie kind so I tried this recipe. Not exactly the same but still good! The 3x3 size is huge though, and you need to roll them much thinner as it puffs up a lot in the oven. It also took several minutes longer to bake them. The dough once rolled was a little sticky and soft so my next batch I am chilling in the fridge for an hour. I used pineapple preserves, and raspberry preserves. Other flavors I've had are apricot, prune is popular, and apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Trish, PLEASE respond - are you sure that it's 2 cups of butter? Every other recipe similar to this calls for 2 STICKS/1 cup of butter. I'm dying to make these since my Czech grandmother used to, but the butter amount seems insanely excessive. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Byrnes Wilson
Home Town: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Am I the only one who had to use a lot more flour? It is cold and dry here and I used over 6 cups of flour. My mother-in-law taught me how to make these. Her mother came to the US from Poland through Germany and to Ellis Island when she was 4. I thought I'd try a different recipe but I'll go back to hers. Maybe the author meant 2 sticks of butter not 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States