Kolachky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
very tasty pastry. My mother is Slovak and has always called these cookies "rushky" (not sure on teh spelling) and she rolls hers up but the pastry is the same. I tried some with a berry preserves filling and they were the favorite, though the filling needs to be cut down or it seeps out too easily. Also, 3" X 3" size is HUGE, more like a danish or pastry than a cookie, so if I do it again, I will cut that size way down as well as cut down on the quantity of filling I use. Overall delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
wonderful recipe. very simple and easy for first time kolachky makers! thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
The recipe I have is slightly different. I got it from my mom and grandma who've been making them since before I born. It's become a tradition in my family. I always use Raspberry or Apricot filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I guess this must be an Eastern European recipe! My mother made these cookies for Ukrainian Christmas, and everyone loved them. I lost the recipe, so thank you for sharing it. She called them "rohalyky" (horns)because she rolled the dough into a 12 inch circle, cut it like a pizza into 12 slices, put a teaspoon of jam at the widest end and rolled it towards the narrow end. She sprinkled the top with a mixture of sugar and nuts. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
My dad is from the Czech Republic and I made these for him as a surprise. He loved it and was so happy he immediately emailed my grandma to tell her what I made. Thanks so much for the recipe!! I am giving it 4 stars because he was confused about what they were at first- he is used to them being circular with jam in the center, like a thumbprint cookie. But they were delicious and my whole family loves them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
My greatgrandmother made these every year around the holidays. When she passed the tradition died. I am grateful to find this recipe. The only trouble I have is keeping the husband and kids out of the kitchen long enough to get a platter full of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
These cookies were pretty good! I had a hard time understanding how to shape them around the filling, but I ultimately decided to just bring 2 opposite corners of each square up and over the filling and pinch them together on top. They were pretty and tasted great. I think no matter how you shape them they are likely to be tasty. Great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I ditched my old recipe for this one. This was the easiest dough that I ever worked with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Perfection. Used the shot-glass (unfolded) method, just like my Mom used to when I was a kid. I used Solo apricot filling - I could eat them all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Great recipe! Fruit jam also makes a delicious filling for those with nut allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States