Kolachky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Darn tasty! Used cherry pie filling in some, poppy seed filling in others. Sifted powdered sugar over the top at the end. Served to Slovaks and Hungarians who loved this recipe. I'm not convinced that it is the "real deal" as this is the same cream cheese/butter/flour recipe I use for mini quiches. Even so, this is sure tasty. Not quite the same taste as in Slovakia and Hungary, but tasty enough for no one to mind. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
After reading all the amazing reviews, I decided to give this recipe a try. I obviously did not get the same results as everyone else as my outcome was fairly disastrous. I added the indicated 4 cups of flour and it quickly became obvious that I needed significantly more to form the dough. Secondly, 1/4 of an inch seemed to be quite thick to roll/fold/pinch (or any other method) to hold the filling which then of course needed a longer baking period. The end product tasted all right, but, from a personal opinion, not worth the effort and the products used (or in this case wasted). It appears that maybe family traditions (or methods) may be useful in this case for rendering a successful and delicious product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Goncalves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These are WONDERFUL!! I used peach and raspberry filling. I used the lid of a mason jar to cut the rounds and folded two opposite sides together....worked well! Made little star cutouts for the kids and just put a little dollop of filling in the middle! Will definitely make again.....a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luka'sMum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I also am originally from Binghamton, NY. Although none of my family is of Czech descent, this was a holiday tradition from my mothers' family. I'd lost our receipe, and have been looking for one. We had a refrigerated recipe, where we made the dough up the night before. We used Lakvar (prune butter), but am not able to find it here in KY. We cut the dough in small rectangles, spread on the butter, then rolled, baked and sprinkled confection sugar. It was always a hit. I'll try this recipe and one of the other fruit butters. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurst gals
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These kolachkys tasted like the ones I get at the bakery! They were really good. They needed more sweetness though so I would put a lot more confectioners sugar on top. I tried some with the nut mixture and then I put a cream cheese mixture in the others. These were delicious and pretty fast to make. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
My mother, Hungarian background, made this recipe for years. Her version of the walnut filling: add 1 to 2 TBS. each of orange and lemon zest (depending on your taste preference)along with the egg and honey mentioned. Sometimes she would substitute about half a cup of sugar instead of the honey. She also made the apricot filling (mentioned by another reviewer)from simmered dried apricots, then mashed. She also added lemon zest for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I scaled the recipe down to 12 "cookies". I used the Solo brand Apricot filling and it didn't ooze and tasted wonderfully. I had some issues with the dough sticking to the counter but I dusted confectioner's sugar and that helped a lot. I used a round cookie cutter, spread filling in the middle and then folded in the sides. See my pictures. I think they came out pretty and they were really tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
My husband is Czech and I spent a year living in Prague with him. I've never seen a Czech Pastry that was so flat. Everything that his very traditional mother made was puffy and more like a little bun. I actually made Kolácky with a quick puff pastry dough before tryin this recipe, and my husband liked them much more and thought they were much more authentic. This dough is too simple, but it is fast. Still, I'd recommend buying frozen puff pastry and filling it with these fillings if you needed to make these in a pinch. They don't taste bad, they're just not traditionally "Czech".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
My kids really loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I always try to look for new and different cookies to make at Christmas time. I tried this one last year and let co-workers and guests at the resturant I worked at sample them. They were so wonderful I was asked to make 4 doz. for a very upscale dinner party. They were a hit and I have been flooded with requests for them again this year. A DEFINITE KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States