Kolachky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
As the mom of a multiple food allergy kid (nuts, dairy, egg, fish, nectarines - I bake "vegan"), I'm always on the lookout for new recipes I can convert so that he can enjoy the same traditional foods as the rest of the family. I was able to use Tofutti "Better than Cream Cheese" and Earth Balance buttery spread, added another cup of flour to get the dough consistency right, used a maraschino cherry in each and skipped the egg bath.. and voila! Vegan Kolachkis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I work for Chech boss and every year in May Prauge,OK. Has a Kolache(that's how they spell it) festival and we make these every year and we always make a lot of differnt fillings for these and like they get almost a crumble topping and are amazing and I hate pastry! I get these all the time the little doughnut places my town sell these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Very easy to make and exceptional taste! I will never have to buy this cookie again! Even my husband that doesn't care for sweets loved these cookies. I used raspberry jam and melted chocolate as the filling... I want to try the walnut filling next... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD_RJ_Atl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Kolachky cookies are a MUST at every get-together in my family, (also Czechs)....my mother has made them for as long as i can remember...when she became sick with cancer, i took over making them because there is a sightly tedious process to making them, and when you do make them, you're usually making over 250 + cookies at one time (..i come from a family of 14 kids). Our recipe is only slightly different...we add 2 tblspoons of sugar, and 1 tsp. of baking powder, in addition to the recipe here. It's also beneficial to refrigerate the dough overnight, or at least a couple of hours before rolling out. You can also make star-shaped cookies by cutting all corners into the center, placing jelly of choice in the center, and bringing every other corner to the center and pinching together. With my mother, it was always apricot filling, but i've started making a cream cheese filling which has become the new favorite. You cannot have a party offering these cookies and not get asked by a number of the guests for the recipe..they literally melt in your mouth, they are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Great recipe! One change to be just like my Slovak grandmother's: roll out the dough onto a sugared surface and sprinkle sugar on top as you roll. I also roll about half as thick as recommended. The shape I use depends on how I feel at the moment: usually just pinch 2 opposite corners together or roll up like a little kolac.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This recipe is a Christmas tradition in my family. I'm not sure where my mother got the recipe (we are English and Norwiegan) but it is always my favorite for the holidays. We shape the cookies differently though by bringing all 4 corners of the square together in the center over the filling and pinching it to hold it together. It bakes up nicely and some of them open slightly to reveal the filling. My favorite filling is the Solo apricot filling. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
These kolachky remind me of when I was very little at christmas time at my grandmothers house. I highly recomend them! Get creative and use different types of jams and jellies! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made the dough in my kitchen aid mixer and followed the recipe exactly. I think you must chill the dough (for at least one hour) to get this to turn out well. The chilled dough was very easy to work with. I rolled them out much thinner than the directions state. We really like the Solo apricot filling. We did not at all like the poppyseed- even though it is traditional and we did not really like the almond either (both Solo brand canned filling) Next time I'll buy 2 cans of Solo apricot and probably try the homemade walnut filling. Yum! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We made these for the first time this Christmas and got a lot of requests for the recipe. We followed the recipe as written, but did not make the poppyseed ones (we don't like poppyseeds). The first time we made the walnut ones I used old honey that had partially crystallized. I used fresh honey in the second batch. The fresh honey ran all over the cookie sheet and made a mess in the oven. The crystallized honey stayed where it was supposed to--I'm using that next year too! The honey-walnut mixture has a taste similar to Greek baklava but not as sweet, and the cookie crust is to die for--buttery, flaky, and delicious. Don't skip the dusting in confectioner's sugar--the cookie needs the sweetness because the crust has no sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is the exact replica of my Granny's recipe (at least in taste) I didn't come across this one when I searched the site probably because we spell it differently in Polish. I tried another that didn't work out well. Thanks allrecipes for daily e-mails and thank you Trish for sharing. This Yule my kids have a little taste of my childhood in Eastern Europe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States