Kolaches II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This is a great recipe and easy to make. I made some for my co-workers and they loved it. The lemon is the key to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This was an easy, no-knead sweet roll recipe. I still had a little trouble with it, but I'm new to yeast breads. The rolls didn't rise well on my baking stones, but overall turned out nicely. The rolls rose much better on my metal pans, but the bottoms burned. It's not a terribly sweet roll, the preserves add the sweetness to it. I tried substituting Smuckers 100% Fruit for the preserves, but won't do that again. It doesn't bake as well as preserves do. I might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
My husband is from a Czech background. He's says these are pretty darn close to how grandma used to make them. I guess that's a great rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VESTREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I left out the lemon and made savory sausage\cheese kolaches...this made 30, and my family is RAVING! Fluffy bread, even 3 days later in the microwave! INCREDIBLE!!!!!!! A+++++++++ 5*'s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuddeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford Forest, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
These were really good! I halved the recipe as there's only 2 of us to eat them, but ended up having a bit of trouble. I needed 3/4c more flour than the recipe called for, though as this is only my second foray into yeast breads, I suspect the fault was with me rather than the recipe. Now that I've figured out the flour issue, I'll definitely make these again. Pretty easy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueEyedBaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
My husband had requested cherry kolache for his birthday breakfast, and this looked like the best option. This is an excellent recipe for kolach. My daughter said that they were the best she's ever had. We live in a town with a lot of Czech heritage, so that means something. I ended up using 5 and 3/4 cups of flour, because the dough was so moist, but they were still extremely light and tender To prevent burning, I baked them on an insulated cookie sheet. That worked very well. I also followed the idea of another poster, and turned a dozen of them into "breakfast" kolach, with finely chopped onion, kielbasa, eggs and 2% sharp cheddar loosely scrambled. The loose, moist scramble set firm in the kolach baking process. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
These are very good. I used a peach preserve and a blackberry. Very tasty. I like the other users had to use a little additional flour. PLEASE watch carefully in the oven. These burn very quickly on the bottom even though they are only slightly brown on the top. Next time I make these, I may go down a few degrees on the oven. I will make these again. They were very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLLEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Just like my family recipe! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was a very easy recipe, but as tasty as the kolaches my mom used to make. I experimented with fillings and decided that this recipe does best with a savory filling. I also tried All Fruit instead of preserves (didn't work out) and cream cheese danish filling (which was delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Excellent! I was a little hesitant about the lemon extract but did it anyway and was pleasantly surprised. It added a fresh little bit of citrus to a perfectly sweet dough. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States