Kolaches I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Fabulous! This recipe is simple, easy, and not too time consuming, other than waiting for the buns to raise. My niece (age 4) ate so many of these at Christmas, I thought she would burst! I used apricot, raspberry, and poppy seed fillings. This is a keeper recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This recipe rates up there with the best of kolaches. Something I especially like about this one is the suggestion of leaving the kolache flat with a center indention filled with preserves. They are beautiful served on a tray this way, and you can see what you are getting. My personal preferences are strawberry, apricot, & blackberry, but the choices are limitless! Ummmmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CREAMERJA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Good basic recipe! I substituted butter for the shortening and used lemon and apple pie fillings. I did not flatten them out prior to baking as I wanted a deep "well" for the fillings. They did puff up quite a bit in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Awesome kolache recipe...seems like everyone who lives in my area thinks that a kolache is a sausage link wrapped in a bisquit.....do not use anything except for a metal pan...i used glass and a baking stone and it took forever to cook on there....the metal worked the best...if u use the metal pan only bake it for 12 min. otherwise they will burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These turned out great! I made them with peach, blueberry, and apricot preserves. The dough was a little sticky, but a bit of flour on my hands fixed this. They were so delicious! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Just like my grandma used to make! I was trying to find her recipe but was unable to find it since she passed away. Thank you for this recipe. It has brought many happy memories to my family! I used apple, almond, mixed nut, and cherry fillings and then topped it with a powdered sugar icing. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by horseluvr
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
These are the best kolaches ever!!! I put apple pie filling in them, and powdered sugar frosting on the top of them, and they tasted exactly like something you could get at a resteraunt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by horseluvr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
These were wonderful! I am too from Iowa and have very strong "Viking" roots. My entire family history comes from Norway and a little from Denmark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dakota City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were great!!They are like the ones I get at the kolache shop in Houston,Tx. I did these like they do there. I took the dough and spread it out all most square with some flour because the dough is rather sticky and just cut squares with a pizza cutter. For the filling I used comstock pie filling and added the strudsel topping. They were wonderful and my husband raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is a delicious recipe for Kolaches. My family and guests raved over them and many had 2nd and 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States