Kolaches I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My family is Czech, so I make these often. I use softened butter instead of shortening. Using bread flour instead of AP makes for a lighter, flakier kolache. After you put the yeast in with the milk you need to let it sit atleast 10 minutes until it starts to foam. Also the milk temp should be close to 110 degrees (2 min in the micro is what it takes for me). Too hot and you kill the yeast, not hot enough it will not activate. Add about 3 cups of flour, form a ball, then take it out of the bowl and work the rest of the flour in on the counter. Add additional flour if necessary, but it should still be a little sticky. The reviewer that said this is a batter did something terribly wrong. This is a bread dough type of consistency. Don't "flatten the balls". Instead take your thumb and index fingers on both hands and push the dough out from the center. This will create a deep well with tall sides so that the filling doesn't ooze out. Then I brush mine with melted butter and fill with about a tablespoon or 2 of cherry pie filling (or whatever you like). I am impatient on the 2nd rise, so I place the kolaches in the oven with it on low (170 degrees) for 20 minutes. That will make the second rise go much faster. Then preheat the oven to 375 and bake for about 15 minutes. Should be light golden. I get the best results with an airbake cookie sheet. Dark colored ones will burn the bottoms of the Kolache. This recipe makes about 40 kolaches, not 72. I get 12 per cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
Kolaces (or Kolaches) are big where I live in Central Texas, due to the large Czech population... and they're one of the many reasons we native Texans are glad so many Czechs call Texas home! Kolaces are perfect for any occasion - my favorite filling is sweet cream cheese - to DIE for. This is a great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Awesome kolache recipe...seems like everyone who lives in my area thinks that a kolache is a sausage link wrapped in a bisquit.....do not use anything except for a metal pan...i used glass and a baking stone and it took forever to cook on there....the metal worked the best...if u use the metal pan only bake it for 12 min. otherwise they will burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This recipe rates up there with the best of kolaches. Something I especially like about this one is the suggestion of leaving the kolache flat with a center indention filled with preserves. They are beautiful served on a tray this way, and you can see what you are getting. My personal preferences are strawberry, apricot, & blackberry, but the choices are limitless! Ummmmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Just like my grandma used to make! I was trying to find her recipe but was unable to find it since she passed away. Thank you for this recipe. It has brought many happy memories to my family! I used apple, almond, mixed nut, and cherry fillings and then topped it with a powdered sugar icing. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These turned out great! I made them with peach, blueberry, and apricot preserves. The dough was a little sticky, but a bit of flour on my hands fixed this. They were so delicious! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These turned out so great that my family all say they will never buy a kolache again! The dough was pretty gooey, but, I just added a little extra flour when handling it. I also added about 1/2 cup more sugar. Instead of brushing each ball with shortening, I just greased a cookie sheet and they were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CREAMERJA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Good basic recipe! I substituted butter for the shortening and used lemon and apple pie fillings. I did not flatten them out prior to baking as I wanted a deep "well" for the fillings. They did puff up quite a bit in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were great!!They are like the ones I get at the kolache shop in Houston,Tx. I did these like they do there. I took the dough and spread it out all most square with some flour because the dough is rather sticky and just cut squares with a pizza cutter. For the filling I used comstock pie filling and added the strudsel topping. They were wonderful and my husband raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by horseluvr
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
These are the best kolaches ever!!! I put apple pie filling in them, and powdered sugar frosting on the top of them, and they tasted exactly like something you could get at a resteraunt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by horseluvr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States