Kolaches I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Just like my grandma used to make! I was trying to find her recipe but was unable to find it since she passed away. Thank you for this recipe. It has brought many happy memories to my family! I used apple, almond, mixed nut, and cherry fillings and then topped it with a powdered sugar icing. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These turned out great! I made them with peach, blueberry, and apricot preserves. The dough was a little sticky, but a bit of flour on my hands fixed this. They were so delicious! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Awesome kolache recipe...seems like everyone who lives in my area thinks that a kolache is a sausage link wrapped in a bisquit.....do not use anything except for a metal pan...i used glass and a baking stone and it took forever to cook on there....the metal worked the best...if u use the metal pan only bake it for 12 min. otherwise they will burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CREAMERJA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Good basic recipe! I substituted butter for the shortening and used lemon and apple pie fillings. I did not flatten them out prior to baking as I wanted a deep "well" for the fillings. They did puff up quite a bit in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I made these for my sons Czech Republic project at school. They had a nice taste and texture. Not too sweet. I had to add extra flour though to form a ball. I have never had these so I was surprised how big they were. I made exactly what the recipe called for and some where close to 3 inches wide. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Fabulous! This recipe is simple, easy, and not too time consuming, other than waiting for the buns to raise. My niece (age 4) ate so many of these at Christmas, I thought she would burst! I used apricot, raspberry, and poppy seed fillings. This is a keeper recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAHLERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandt, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leonard, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This recipe rates up there with the best of kolaches. Something I especially like about this one is the suggestion of leaving the kolache flat with a center indention filled with preserves. They are beautiful served on a tray this way, and you can see what you are getting. My personal preferences are strawberry, apricot, & blackberry, but the choices are limitless! Ummmmm, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2000
Kolaces (or Kolaches) are big where I live in Central Texas, due to the large Czech population... and they're one of the many reasons we native Texans are glad so many Czechs call Texas home! Kolaces are perfect for any occasion - my favorite filling is sweet cream cheese - to DIE for. This is a great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States