Kolaches I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is not the kolache I am looking for..this is a batter and the kolaches I enjoy here in Texas are a dough. I made it per recipe and it was not good to me.More of a teacake batter that you had to pour off a spoon, the preserves seeped out the bottom while cooking. A big mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Made the recipe this weekend and they were a big hit. I didn't roll them - just put them on the cookie sheet - about a tablespoon and a half and put the filling in the middle. They puffed up and after they cooled I made a powdered sugar frosting and drizzled it on them. I will make them again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is a delicious recipe for Kolaches. My family and guests raved over them and many had 2nd and 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These were great!!They are like the ones I get at the kolache shop in Houston,Tx. I did these like they do there. I took the dough and spread it out all most square with some flour because the dough is rather sticky and just cut squares with a pizza cutter. For the filling I used comstock pie filling and added the strudsel topping. They were wonderful and my husband raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
These were wonderful! I am too from Iowa and have very strong "Viking" roots. My entire family history comes from Norway and a little from Denmark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dakota City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I was very disappointed with this recipe. A friend used to bring in kolaches to work, but never shared her "secret recipe." So I've been searching for a comparable one. This one isn't it. The dough was not light and fluffy and the first batch burned after 12 minutes. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by horseluvr
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
These are the best kolaches ever!!! I put apple pie filling in them, and powdered sugar frosting on the top of them, and they tasted exactly like something you could get at a resteraunt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by horseluvr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This is a good Kolace recipe but the original ones czechs make -the dough is rolled and and they look like little pigs in a blanket. A lot of Central Texans do not pronounce them right but I am so glad they keep the czech pastries, food and culture alive. This recipe I really like because it is easier than all the rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
They tasted great but I wasn't prepared for how large they would get while baking. I had to go back and make the holes larger in the second batch because the fruit was bubbling over. None the less, they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sofiemyr, Akershus, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was OK. I was not as crazy about it as others have been. Followed recipe but felt the bread was too "bready", maybe not soft enough for kolaches. I frze some of them and they do freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States