Kolaches From the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I have made this recipe so many times and it always turns out terrific! I've had these often in Texas and my husband has Czech grandparents, so I wanted to learn to make them when we moved away. This is the only recipe I use! I often use my homemade jam instead of the solo filling. Any kind of fruit filling or jam works great. I brush the kolaches with melted butter before filling them, then again after baking them, it helps them keep longer. Make sure you only let them rise a little the second time, or the filling might run off and they will get too puffy. 15-20 minutes is enough time, just while the oven is heating. I usually get at least 30-36 kolaches from this recipe. You can use this dough to make sausage rolls, too. Use the little sausages, or Polish/Czech/German sausage that have been cut in small pieces. Wrap the dough completely around the sausage and let it rise until doubled, then bake. So, only one rising of the dough for them. Depending on the size of the sausage, you can get at least 3 dozen sausage rolls from this recipe. Brush them with butter and store leftovers in the refrigerator. I've actually made a pan of fruit kolaches and a pan if sausage kolaches from this single recipe many times! Thanks Amysue1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Great recipe. Like another reviewer, I made my own fillings, as I do not care for the canned. They were fantastic. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gail giddings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Do you have to search for bread flour specifically or is regular flour going to work okay? I'm not an experienced "baker"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I believe these are not the real Polish kolaches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
The oven temp is absolutely WRONG. Bottoms were black and the house was filled with smoke after 11 minutes!!! Reduce heat to 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Wow!! This recipe is perfect as is. I used a cream cheese filling that I found on this site also and my family gobbled them up. I had to make a second batch same day and so easy when using a bread machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gadacz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made these this morning and my husband was CRAZY about them! The dough is sticky, but keep a bowl of flour handy for dusting your hands and it's a breeze to work with!! Having no canned filling, I made 3 "sweet" versions: lemon curd, homemade blackberry jam, and strawberry preserves. I sprinkled a little Sugar In The Raw on before baking. I also made some with sausage and cheese as suggested by another reviewer. We loved them all! This recipe makes a LOT of dough, so I also made some dinner rolls (again, as suggested by another reviewer). These will now be taking the place of my homemade yeast rolls that I serve on holidays! Warm with a little honey butter- YUMMY! I will definitely make these again, but will try halving the recipe- hubby says he'll double in weight if I make many more full-sized batches!! :-) OH! 7/8 of a cup is 1 cup MINUS 2 tablespoons!! Took forever to find a reliable conversion chart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Have made these three times in the last 2 months. LOVE THEM! Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is WONDERFUL!!! My picky family can't get enough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I used my KitchenAid mixer with the dough hook to mix. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States