Kolaches From the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Made 2 batches of this today and they turned out perfectly!! I substituted baby cereal (the dry flaky kind) for the potato flakes....the baby cereal is better nutrition-wise so thought I would try it since it has the same consistency as instant potatoes. The kolaches turned out light and wonderful! The dough was beautiful, and very easy to work with, too. Served them to 24 people and they were asking for seconds!!! No problem w/my filling running out -- with kolaches you need to make a deep indentation, and do not fill them completely full. Used apricot preserves as the filling, and made a struesel topping to sprinkle over the preserves. I think I will start using this recipe instead of my old kolache one. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
SO GOOD! My husbands absolute favorite. Instead of buying the pie filling I made my own: 2 cups of frozen blueberries 1/4 cup white sugar 1/2 cup water 1-2 tbls cornstarch bring to a boil and simmer until thick.......YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luchinka
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
These are my first Kolache and they turned out just like my grandmas from Czech Republic. I made poppyseed and apple filling. Just before I put the filling on the dough I brushed the edge with some egg yolk and oil mix. That made them golden brown and still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luchinka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Update: I have made this recipe so many times as dinner rolls this summer. My family absolutely loves them. We call them 'kolache' dinner rolls because originally the recipe was for kolaches, LOL. My bread machine broke in July and I even made them by hand the other day. Original review: I was a little disappointed in the actual kolaches that I made with this recipe---the dough had a weird consistency and I found it very hard to work with. My family wasn't too impressed with the kolaches and I had leftover dough. I let it rise some more, then I made it into dinner rolls. Now, those were GREAT!!! Even my husband, who is not a bread eater, thought they were great. So 4 stars for the kolaches and 5 stars for the surprise dinner rolls! Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Excellent - we add a sausage & cheese rather than a filling before the final rise and they are incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This is a very good, simple recipe. I made a batch Saturday and they were gone before I knew it and on Sunday I had requests to make a 2nd batch. I followed the dough recipe exactly, but I did not use the fruit filling. I wrapped the dough around cocktail sausages and cheese. I found that sliced chz works better than grated. It melts better is much easier to work with. I wrapped a third of a chz slice around the suausge and then wraped dough around it. Make sure that you seal the dough well so that the chz does not melt out. I think next weekend I will make them with the fruit filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
MMMM! I made these and the menfolk devoured them in a day and half. Used 1/2 can of cherry filling for the whole batch as I didn't want as much filling in the pastry. I used 2 T. cream cheese and 1 Tbsp. oil instead of extra egg yolk. Delicious! Drizzled with icing. Thankyou!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I've never had kolaches before so I didn't really know what to expect. The dough was really amazing and I had no trouble with the filling spilling out. My family thought they tasted like un-fried doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
These were wonderful and so easy. I followed the bread recipe exactly and they were even better than the kolaches that we go to the donut store for. I'm looking forward to making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Harrison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
These are absolutely wonderful, tender, light, & flavorful. But I don't know how to get the filling to stay on the dough while baking. The indentation made also rises up w/the rest of the dough & then it ran all over my cookie sheet & made a mess. But they were still superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States