Kolaches From the Bread Machine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My grandmother used to make kolaches all the time, but we never got the recipe from her before she died. I think this is very close to the taste of hers. Pretty easy to make. Couple notes: 1) Once the filling is put on and you cover to let rise for 30 minutes, note that your cover will get some filling on it, so don't use anything fancy. 2) Do not overbake these since the bottom will brown faster. My grandmother also didn't overbake because they aren't meant to be brown...just fully baked. 3) These freeze well and I only need about 15-20 seconds in the microwave on 80% power to thaw and eat. 4) I like using poppyseed and raspberry filling in mine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was a great find! We had guests for dinner, and I used this recipe to make both bread rolls (as suggested by pp) and kolaches...drizzled a confectioner's sugar icing over the kolaches, which were filled with a mixed berry compote. The kolaches tasted great even when I overbaked them! (oops) :) My kids devoured them. Very versatile dough, great flavor, and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This recipe made a delicious dough. Now we have an easy recipe for a family favorite! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mile High Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. Definately needs to have the salt adjusted and the texture of the dough just didnt match the kolaches from the bakeries. Guess I'll keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
These take longer than you expect but are very good. Bake on a shiny baking sheet to avoid over brown bottoms on dark metal. I made both cherry kolaches and sausage ones and plan to freeze half of each for weekdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
These were more of a thick bread with filling on top, although the bread was good. They aren't like the kolaches I am used to buying here in WI. I subbed the mashed potato flakes with baby cereal because that was all I had. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shampooza
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
These are great! The bread was not as soft as I was hoping it would be, but they were still delicious. Next time I will try proofing the yeast first. I used blueberry preserves, a cherry-blueberry fruit spread, and sweet orange marmalade because those were all I had on hand. I don't normally care for marmalade but those ended up being my favorite ones! Next time I will make some with sausage and cheese. Yum! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Not quite like home in tx, but darn close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I served this to some guests after dinner and they all seemed to like it- it turned out a little puffy but it did taste great! I had some freezer peach preserves in the freezer that I served with this and it went well together. Did not put powered sugar on it- I didnt think it needed it. Maybe next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Kellie G
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
These were my first attempt at kolaches. We just moved to Texas and my fiance loves them here. Anyway I filled mine with jalapeno, sausage, and cheddar and some with blueberry preserves and cream cheese and rolled them into balls. Delicious. The recipe is wonderful and the dough was amazinly perfect and easy to work with. Will make again many times. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States