Kohlrabi with White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
It was WAY WAY too spicy with all that white pepper in it, could not even enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Severin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Nice flavor. Never had this veggie before. It's very good. I sprinkled the seasoning in until it looked and tasted right.. used black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I saw kohlrabi in the store today for the first time in years, and looked up the recipe here as a memory enhancer. My German Nana used to make it this way with one addition. She always boiled the green leaves in a separate pot until soft; drained and then chopped them; and mixed them into the cooked, sliced bulbs and sauce. It added an extra dimension to the flavor. If you have too many bulbs for the number of people, you can freeze them (raw or cooked without the sauce) in a freezer bag for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This dish was great. But I modified it in my own way. I don't drink milk and didn't have it or cream on hand and so substituted almond milk and almond butter. It was fantastic. The nuttiness of the almond perfectly complemented the earthiness of the kohlrabi. I, of course, still used butter. I mean, really, I'm crunchy, but nothing beats butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Not a great recipe. Bought a kohlrabi at the Farmers Market and tried this recipe. Much like creamed potatoes, only not as tasty. Next time, I will just use the potatoes. Kohlrabi not to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was good. I remember eating this at Juergen and Britta's house often in Germany. It was one of my favorite dishes at their house. I couldn't find any here in the US, but I grew some myself this year. Just like cabbage (which it is) it grows well and is one hearty plant. I don't remember it tasting so much like cabbage, in fact at the time I had no idea it was cabbage, but she sliced it thinner than I did and I believe she cooked it more than I did. Next time I'll boil it longer, and maybe not save the 1 cup water. I've got more Kohlrabi so I'll perfect it over time. I tried to go conservative on salt and pepper due to another review, but needed to add more after it was done. I added a little black pepper too. The seasoning depends on how much Kohlrabi you have, etc, so you have to season to taste. It was good, but I think the good company also made it better in Germany.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Good recipe, I used white pepper to taste. Next time I will cook the kohlrabi to tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I submitted this original recipe, and I want to warn you that the amounts of nutmeg and pepper were too much (compared to my original recipe)!!! This is definitely a taste-as-you-season sauce! Start with 1/4 tsp. of each and build up from there as you taste! Thanks for trying my recipe :) As with any recipes on this site, it's a good idea to use your own judgement when it comes to any ingredients--it's also nice when people put tips for improvements in their posts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Kohlrabi is not sold in stores and I found it at the farmers market. I was thrilled! Then I was wondering if the sauce would be here on the website. I couldnt tell you how excited I was to have it available on line. My family is from Germany and we had this all of the time growing up. I just can't make it. We just had an exchange student from Germany and I asked his mom to make the white sauce if I was to buy califlower. She brough back many happy memories of all the wonderful dinners that my mom made. I will use this again and again. I added more pepper and that's just a personal taste. You did wonerful and now I can make it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I give this a "3" as overall, it was a good recipe. I liked the texture of the kohlrabi cooked, as I have always ate it raw with a little salt, like a radish. I took others advice and cut the pepper in half and the teaspoon seemed to give it a good pepper kick. I'm not a big fan of nutmeg, so I did not enjoy this like I thought I would. I will definitely try again, but omit the nutmeg and maybe add some red pepper, and maybe thyme and basil. Thanks for giving me something new to try! I am always looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Hamlet, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States