Knodel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I, too, made them into baseball sized dumplings and boiled, but did it in stock. When I was little, I was anemic. My Grandma Schultz used to grind up liver and add it to the mix and boil in beef stock. You can also use ground chicken or turkey, or whatever, boil in stock and serve as a soup. If you want, mince up onions, garlic, green peppers, whatever suits your fancy and experiment boiling in water, stock, or, after boiling, dump them into a pot of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
My father's great grandfather came from Austria and his family taught my mother how they made them. My families recipe(not wrote down but like Margaret, you had to follow Mom around the kitchen) has a lot of onions and a lot of very small diced Velvetta Cheese brick in them. They are boiled in water(I add some chicken broth to the water for a little added flavor)for an hour. Some stay together and some don't. Doesn't matter, good anyway you can get them. I understand another way to make them is with liver. My mother was kind enough not to go there. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
whatever this is it was good, but not sure with what you will sever this. But its like a stuffing....very good!!! Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
When I went to Vienna, the knodel was served this way and not in the shape of balls like other reviewers described. When I ordered knodel, it was served fried up with eggs as a main dish with salad on the side. I loved it! I didn't know what it was at the time and actually thought they were well-boiled potatoes or something. Now I know! Mine didn't turn out exactly like I had in Austria, but it was good. I didn't have a pan larger than 9 x 11, so I turned the oven on to 275 degrees and had a big pan full of water heat up for an hour to steam. Then I put the pan of knodel in the oven with the foil wrapped tightly on it. The bread was still pretty firm. The taste was good, but the texture was slightly off. I'm sure it was my cooking technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wickwook
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I was invited to a German potluck and made this side dish. I used fresh french bread and toasted it in the oven for 20 min. at 350. I also used red onions. I placed it in a 9x11 glass dish and then put in my Big(turkey roasting) pan with water at 350 for 45 min. It was good, but very plain. Everyone ate it and liked it. It was a nice side dish with all the German food. Many people had this before in Germany...so it worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wickwook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I'm from Vienna, Austria, but I have never seen Knoedel made in a pan like this. It is quite common, though to form them into balls (like someone else suggested). Another way is to make "Serviettenknoedel" (napkin dumplings), by forming a long roll, wrapping it in a cloth napkin or kitchen towel (NOT terry), and hanging this on a wooden cooking spoon into boiling water (10 minutes should do it). The finished dumpling roll is then sliced and served with stews or gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
My family and I came from the south west of Germany in the Black Forest. My mom would add diced ham to her Knodel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I grew up in Austria and this is very close to the real thing (I have a recipe from there) -- For added flavor: fry bacon crisp (in small slices) and toss the bread in the bacon fat to give it more smokey flavor. With bacon they are often called Tiroler Knoedel (from Tyrol). Very good thanks for sharing. The only thing is that Knodel are Bread dumplings and are formed into balls. For an authenic recipe google "goodcookbecky" and "Austrian Bread Dumplings" I have a very similar recipe on my blog there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOODCOOKBECKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
My Father came from Austria and knodel was one of his most favorite dishes. My Mother made a variation cutting a ring of Hillshire Farm Polska Kielbasa into small pieces and incorporating it into the batter before rolling into dumplings. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I mixed all of the ingredients together as per recipe adding one extra egg. But then I formed them into firms balls the size of a small hardball and placed them into slightly salted boiling water. When they rose to the surface, I turned the heat down to a soft boil and covered the pot. Ten minutes later they're done and awsome! Everyone loves them. A great recipe. My whole family raves every time I make this and requests it often. A great way to soak up gravy or sauce. If there are any leftovers (and there usually aren!t) I cut them up the next morning and put them in the frypan with a couple of eggs and sometimes ham, red pepper, etc... and they are gone! A real soul food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States