Knishes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Not sure what they are supposed to taste like but these were very good. The crust was very crunchy. I cut with a sharp knife, not a pizza cutter as that squashed my dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I added a few more things (cheese, garlic, butter) to give it a more savory taste. The only problem I had with it was the crust...It's suppose to be flaky and softer, so next time I'm going to just change the crust altogether. But the filler is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsfrosty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
i added chives and 2 eggs to the filling. excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
For the filling I used 7 potatoes, 2 medium onions, 4 tbs oil, 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp black pepper, 2 tsp sugar, 1 tsp minced garlic, and 2 eggs. For the dough I only used 4 cups of flour. I divided the dough into thirds and rolled it out with a rolling pin. I sliced the rolled 1/3 portions with a pizza cutter in half the long way. This resulted in 6 potato filled logs. I sliced the logs into 1 1/4 inch pieces with dental floss and brushed them with an egg wash (1 beaten egg yolk + 1 tbs milk). I baked them at 375F for 45 minutes. Makes 60 small knishes. I brought them to work and had one of the girls I work with (who is a self-proclaimed "expert knish eater") try one. She said the filling was right but the crust was wrong. She said it should be flaky, like a pie crust. Next time I'll use a pastry crust recipe for the dough. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Fun to make and eat. A welcome change from the everyday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
there was too much filling left over, it just didn't measure out right. also, the dough wasn't right. im looking for a recipe close to the knish i had when i lived in new york. the dough should be flaky,not hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was OK, but the dough wasn't like a real knish that you'd get at a kosher deli. i prefer a "doughier" dough and this was a little harder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
I make the dough to use with leftover mashed potatoes. I then add onion, cheese, and either spinach or brocolli which I drain and squeeze very well to get the liquid out. I roll the dough very thin and sprinkle with paprika before baking. I cut circles and shape individual servings. They reheat well in oven and I imagine they would freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States